Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by thelittlecook
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Good recipe. I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and next time I think I'll even add another (so there are 4 tbsps altogether). Also, I'd add about a tsp of vanilla next time. Overall, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Maybe I should have baked this just a bit longer because it was a bit gluey but it was good. I did reduce the baking powder because it did have that metallic taste. Not the best but not the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I just made these, following the advice of previous reviews. They are perfect! I had to try one before our dinner guests arrive. I improvised with 1/2 cup room temp. butter instead of shortening, reduced to 2 tsp baking powder, increased to 1/4 cup sugar in batter (left all rest the same). I sprinkled each with a mixture of sugar/cinnamon before baking and they are delicious, flaky and don't taste "doughy" or like baking powder. Baked at 425 for 20 minutes on parchment paper. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fantastic recipe, I did however substitute the shortening with butter (~1 1/2 cu.). Also almost halved the baking powder. Then baked it at a lower temp (around 400). Needless to say it came out amazing. I hesitated to use more butter, didn't need Paula showing up to my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A hint dry, but flavorful and with good texture, even when the cake was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Klingler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I followed the luv to cook version and doubled the recipe. the first pan came out beautiful but once I had handled the dough for the second pan my body heat had started to melt the butter and the batte became very sticky. this pan spread out too much. I think I will throw it in the refrigerator for 10 -15 minutes next time before I bake it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
A great result overall, but a bit of tweaking was needed. 1) reduce the baking powder to 3 teaspoons (some other reviews suggest reducing to 2), 2) I would definitely recommend making this at least 12 hours ahead or even the previous day. The strawberry juice and moisture from the whipped cream soak into the shortcake and it is improved, IMHO, at least ten fold! For the impatient, not bad, but to my taste, a bit too dry. 3) personal taste again, but this recipe produces a pretty skimpy shortcake for 9. I would increase the amounts by 1/2 4) I added the grated rind of one lemon for a hint of zip. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was great - I made mine with 1/2 strawberries and 1/2 blackberries which was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
VERY moist and delicious shortcake, not dry and bland like many others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Lunkwitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Prutty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkskull1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States