Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I decreased the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and added 1/4 c sugar - I wouldn't do that again. The sugar from the strawberries and the whipping cream plus the cake - made it too sweet. The "cake" was sort of crunchy on the outside and very moist on the inside. I used butter instead of shortening. I would make this again. Mahalo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anza, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bakesie
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
We didn't like this at all. Way to dry and taste like a cross between cardboard, nothing and baking powder. Turned out like shortbread, nothing "cake" about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakesie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This recipe turned out perfectly when made exactly as the recipe stated. A big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Haven, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I didn't change the recipe at all and it came out quite good but a bit hard and crumbly like I've heard from other reviews. Next time I will alternate the recipe to what others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This recipe is great!! I was so nervous because not only was I making it without prior testing, I made it for a group of family members, but serious critics :-) The cake isn't sweet when cooked but I'm told it's not supposed to be. It was a hit; nearly everyone came back for second or thirds!! I followed some of the changes other commenters suggested and assembled each serving using one layer with a few teaspoons of strawberry juice drizzled over a cake square before adding strawberries and whipped cream. Sorry no pictures (for right now), they rushed into the kitchen before I was done assembling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Really easy to make and came out great. I used almond milk since i dont do dairy. Will try the suggested modifications next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These were amazing! I followed directions exactly for the shortcake, and they came out great! I did, however, put the dough into ramekins for smaller (individual) portion sizes. I thought it would take less time in the oven because of their size, but they still took 20 minutes. At 15 mins, they (the larger ones) were still gooey in the center. The recipe made 2 large ramekins and 2 small ones. I only made enough strawberries for one serving (myself), I didnt measure the sugar but I eyeballed it to my liking, and I added a dab of vanilla, and used a potato masher to lightly squeeze the juices from the strawberries. It sat for the duration of the baking time, and all in all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was excellent. It's a true shortcake, I chose to cut individual slices and split them for serving and this worked very well. I used butter flavored shortening and cut the baking powder to 3 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States