Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
These were amazing! I followed directions exactly for the shortcake, and they came out great! I did, however, put the dough into ramekins for smaller (individual) portion sizes. I thought it would take less time in the oven because of their size, but they still took 20 minutes. At 15 mins, they (the larger ones) were still gooey in the center. The recipe made 2 large ramekins and 2 small ones. I only made enough strawberries for one serving (myself), I didnt measure the sugar but I eyeballed it to my liking, and I added a dab of vanilla, and used a potato masher to lightly squeeze the juices from the strawberries. It sat for the duration of the baking time, and all in all it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was excellent. It's a true shortcake, I chose to cut individual slices and split them for serving and this worked very well. I used butter flavored shortening and cut the baking powder to 3 teaspoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by thelittlecook
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Good recipe. I added an extra tablespoon of sugar, and next time I think I'll even add another (so there are 4 tbsps altogether). Also, I'd add about a tsp of vanilla next time. Overall, pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Maybe I should have baked this just a bit longer because it was a bit gluey but it was good. I did reduce the baking powder because it did have that metallic taste. Not the best but not the worst.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I just made these, following the advice of previous reviews. They are perfect! I had to try one before our dinner guests arrive. I improvised with 1/2 cup room temp. butter instead of shortening, reduced to 2 tsp baking powder, increased to 1/4 cup sugar in batter (left all rest the same). I sprinkled each with a mixture of sugar/cinnamon before baking and they are delicious, flaky and don't taste "doughy" or like baking powder. Baked at 425 for 20 minutes on parchment paper. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fantastic recipe, I did however substitute the shortening with butter (~1 1/2 cu.). Also almost halved the baking powder. Then baked it at a lower temp (around 400). Needless to say it came out amazing. I hesitated to use more butter, didn't need Paula showing up to my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
A hint dry, but flavorful and with good texture, even when the cake was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan Klingler

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I followed the luv to cook version and doubled the recipe. the first pan came out beautiful but once I had handled the dough for the second pan my body heat had started to melt the butter and the batte became very sticky. this pan spread out too much. I think I will throw it in the refrigerator for 10 -15 minutes next time before I bake it. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
A great result overall, but a bit of tweaking was needed. 1) reduce the baking powder to 3 teaspoons (some other reviews suggest reducing to 2), 2) I would definitely recommend making this at least 12 hours ahead or even the previous day. The strawberry juice and moisture from the whipped cream soak into the shortcake and it is improved, IMHO, at least ten fold! For the impatient, not bad, but to my taste, a bit too dry. 3) personal taste again, but this recipe produces a pretty skimpy shortcake for 9. I would increase the amounts by 1/2 4) I added the grated rind of one lemon for a hint of zip. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This was great - I made mine with 1/2 strawberries and 1/2 blackberries which was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States