Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This was beautiful to present and tasted amazing. I like to try the recipe as directed before making any changes, and in this case that was a good choice. I made the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfect! I had a gorgeous biscuity shortcake that was excellent with the whipped cream and strawberries. 2 notes: 1) Some reviewers added more shortening when their mixture didn't really resemble course crumbs. It's true, there isn't really enough shortening for the whole thing to be very crumby - it almost just mixes in, and there are just really fine crumbs. But that's okay, it turns out great. 2) After cutting the cake in half, I spread whipped cream between the halves and put 2 layers of sliced strawberries on top, and then added the top half. I piled some strawberries on the top and put a huge dollop of whipped cream on top of that. Then I spread the rest of the strawberries all around the edges of the plate around the cake, so they encircled the cake. It was really showy, but this is actually a fairly easy dessert to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this for a friend's birthday, and it turned out pretty good. l just wish the cake was a little sweeter. But other than that, it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Didn't have any baking mix, so I decided on this recipe instead of my normal, easy shortcake recipe. Glad I did! Just as easy and yummy! I didn't follow the directions for layering. Just baked and cut up; then poured sweetened strawberries all over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Extremely tasty, but the cake kept falling apart on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
This is one of the best strawberry shortcakes that I have ever had. I usually make one at least once a month (sometimes 2 or 3 times a month) and my family loves it. The recipe is simple to make and it will taste good when without any modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
This is a great recipe. I agree with the others about reducing the baking powder to 2 tblsp. I also added a tablespoon of cornstarch with the strawberries and sugar to thicken the juice a bit. Delicious and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
This is amazing, the best shortcake I've ever had. I have no idea how someone could make this wrong or in such a way where it isn't ideal! I am making it again tomorrow for a family event!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Excellent! Made it with butter instead of shortening, very thick batter that I pressed into the pan and it came out light and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
the shortcake was perfect! since the supply of strawberries is limited here, I used canned strawberry toppings instead of fresh strawberries, but still tasted good. this works really well with some scoops of vanilla ice cream. perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
SOOOOO yummy!! Definitely reduce baking powder to 2 tsp, increase batter sugar to 1/4 - 1/2 cup depending on your sweet tooth, and add 1 - 2 tsp of vanilla. THIS IS YOUR BEST BET FOR OLD FASHIONED STRAWBERRY SHORTCAKE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States