Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Critter_Annie
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
we made 2 layers, the first we followed the recipe to a T and used an electric mixer (not that we really used it that much) It turned out good, but slightly dense and not sweet enough. On the second layer/try we doubled the sugar and halved the baking powder as well as hand mixed it. It turned out much better! We had everyone taste test and everyone agreed. I also baked it with a second cake pan filled with water below it to keep it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Critter_Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made an organic version, and used butter instead of shortening in the shortcake. The shortcake was very moist, not dry like the other reviewer mentioned, and had a sweet buttery quality. I love this recipe, and will use it often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Perfect! This was exactly the kind of short cake that I was looking for! Its not like the sponge cake that you would buy pre-made @ the store to use but more of a crumbly biscuit type. I altered nothing from the original recipe and found it plenty sweet and tasty. More sugar imo would have been overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Some people may say that the shortcake isn't sweet enough. But you know, with the strawberries and whipped cream, it's pretty darn good! It's cool because you can have it plain and have it as a scone with butter and jam or something for breakfast. Either way, it's DELICIOUS! But I thought the batter was a little dry, so add a little milk. Just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
followed the advice of 2tsp baking powder and 1/4t salt. Used butter rather than shortening and cut it all in with my Cuisinart dough blade. It was simple and amazing. Fresh whipped cream is a MUST, made with vanilla bean and powdered sugar. PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made this recipe as is. It's a staple in my home, especially now during strawberry season. When I tell people I'm making/bringing strawberry shortcake, they are often expecting sponge or angelfood cake, so I'm on a little mission to educate people on what SHORTCAKE really is. Nothing like it and everyone always raves about how yummy this shortcake is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Very good. Although, I did make a few adjustments to suit my own taste. I sifted all my dry ingredients together, used a combination of buttermilk and reg milk, only 2tsp of baking powder, 1/4 cup of sugar, 1 stick of butter and 1 tsp of vanilla. Would this be considered a new recipe...lol. It came out very good. I was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Delish and easy! I didnt know how to whip the cream into whip cream, but of course looked it up on this site. Very easy whipped with vanilla and confectionary sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
The fresh whipping cream makes this dish. Do not substitute with cool whip : ) Veronica Carlton Anthem Az
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Made 6 large individual shortcakes with this recipe. Tastes just like what I grew up with when mom used Bisquick! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States