Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
VERY moist and delicious shortcake, not dry and bland like many others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Prutty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkskull1013

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kincardine, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
havent tryed it yet but looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
It was easy to make and my guests loved it. I thought it had a bit of a bitter taste, but I was told that is what it was supposed to taste like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Tasteless, dense and heavy...I could go on!More like a bland scone than an actual cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Oh my. This recipe is dangerous, especially if it's only you and one other person in the house. I got a deal on strawberries so I was trying to find ways to use them up. Came across this recipe and now there's no turning back! Was worried that it may not keep very well because I had already added the strawberries and wasn't sure if it would get it too soggy but it was even better the next day! The shortbread infused with the syrup-y strawberries was exquisite! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Everything was good and edible. But I am looking for the cake part to be a little bit softer and sweeter. I also, want the cake part to be more neater. Meaning, not like a cutting a cake in half to make layers. Usually, recipes you get are not edible. But this tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I LOVED this recipe and believe that it deserves high commendation! :) It is really simple and super tasty - my family LOVES it and I love to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Critter_Annie
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
we made 2 layers, the first we followed the recipe to a T and used an electric mixer (not that we really used it that much) It turned out good, but slightly dense and not sweet enough. On the second layer/try we doubled the sugar and halved the baking powder as well as hand mixed it. It turned out much better! We had everyone taste test and everyone agreed. I also baked it with a second cake pan filled with water below it to keep it more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Critter_Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I made an organic version, and used butter instead of shortening in the shortcake. The shortcake was very moist, not dry like the other reviewer mentioned, and had a sweet buttery quality. I love this recipe, and will use it often!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States