Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Best I have had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Strawberry season here, near Plant City Florida. I love shortcake made with old fashioned shortcake (basically a biscuit with extra sugar added). I increased the shortening and added more sugar. I could eat the dough raw! Did my own thing with the berries (I boil some in sugar and use about triple the amount boiled strawberries fresh with confectioners and balsamic vinegar. I prefer to make the shortcake with cold butter but am out of it. I do not feel the recipe is perfect due to needing more fat and sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Withbull

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Way too much Baking powder! I should have read the reviews before making it.....use 2 tsp- not 4 tsp!! Also- add 1 tablespoon of vanilla :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I "second" luv2cook's review! I cut dough into 8 pieces and rolled and shaped into biscuits with the confectioner sugar and they are fabulous! Am I the only one to top my strawberry shortcakes with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Absolutely loved this! Replaced shortening with butter (Earth Balance) and only used 2 tsp baking powder and it turned out perfect! Also used only brown sugar to sweeten strawberries and cake. This cake was gone in a matter of minutes :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I made this last night and it is excellent. After reading the reviews, I adjusted the baking powder to 3 tsp and added a bit more shortening plus a dash of vanilla. And while I used 2/3 cup of whole milk, I also added an additional 1/4 cup of cream for added richness. I baked this in a 7X7 square pan for 25 min. The result was a puffed, golden brown shortcake with a rich, slightly sweet flavor. The texture was a poundcake/biscuit hybrid - the perfect base for strawberry shortcake. The shortcake is so good I'm going to have it toasted with butter and a cup of coffee in just a few minutes. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
After readingbthe reviews, I also went ahead and added a bit more shortenning, I did keep with the 4 tsp on baking powder and it was perfect, our baking powder "Magic Powder" doesn't contain aliminum. I had in my freezer frozen sliced strawberries, so I used them. This recipe is realy good, it's not too sweet, and just perfect for a nice summertime dessert. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HappyKathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chelmsford, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I tried the recipe yesterday, since we are only 2, an older couple and need to watch our starch and sugar intake, I cut the recipe in half for all the ingredients except the egg, since the dough was slightly wet, I added a touch of flour as I turned it into a ball. The secret is in not overworking the dough, very little kneading, shaped it in a rectangular shape and cut 6 pieces. Baked in 400 degrees oven and basted with a bit of butter on top. It turned out flaky and very light, absolutely delicious, the best I've had so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I will use this recipe evermore. I used Smart Balance margarine as the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sparafucile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
What a great recipe! Made a couple of changes: Instead of shortbread, we used mashed potatoes. Instead of strawberries, we used some braised lamb shanks with a delicious gravy. We added a layer of creamed spinach and some boiled carrots, and baked the whole thing together for about 45 minutes. Everyone agreed that this was the best strawberry shortcake ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States