Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
more like cake than shortcake. made the changes suggested by another and used butter and vanilla. Also a bit dry. Wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Very good! I added a half a box of cream cheese and the result was superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I found it not soft enough to spread in the pan so I added more milk. It was bitter when I served it. Too much baking powder? I threw it out this morning....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I didn't change a thing....delicious A lot of these reviews confused me with so many changes to the recipe...just try the original recipe first then play with the recipe if you must. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
this is a traditional shortcake recipe. very easy to make and turned out perfect. exactly what true shortcake should be like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Nicholson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Easy, looked great, tasted great and guests were impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I added a little extra sugar (I like mine sweet!) and left everything else the same. YUM! Turned out PERFECT for my Mom's birthday! Note to everyone else saying its like a biscuit, dry, and crumbly: Its SUPPOSED to be like that!! It soaks up the strawberry juice better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
I also changed some of the measurments using luv2cook's suggestions of less baking powder, more sugar, butter instead of shortening and vanilla. However i measured the butter wrong and put less than she recommended so the cake was dry. It didnt seem to have much flavor on its own but with all the strawberries and juice that wasnt an issue. Im not sure if id make this again. It was easy and quick just not exactly what i was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This was a great, old-fashioned shortcake and a big hit at my BBQ last night! I did follow the suggestions of others by reducing the baking soda to 2 tsp & used butter i/o shortening...thanks for the suggestions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I liked this recipe and will use it again. I was even asked for the recipe after serving it at a cook out. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sweet Home, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States