Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I made this after reading the hints/tips from other commenters. I was really looking for the "cake" part of the strawberry shortcake to go with my frozen strawberries, ice cream and cool whip. This recipe looked good and it was. While I don't know exactly what the original would have been like, I decided to take the advice of others to decrease the amount of baking powder (2 tsp instead of 4 tsp) and I doubled the sugar in the cake/biscuit part. I made individual biscuits in a 9x9 pan, baked for 15 minutes. After they cooled for 5 minutes I layered half the biscuit, frozen sweetened strawberries, cool whip, vanilla ice cream, and strawberries. I had forgotten to add the other half biscuit so I broke it up and put it around the side of the bowl. These were delicious. I worry about how they would have tasted with the original recipe so I only gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
This is wonderful! I prefer butter and used it instead of shortening and added baking sugar crystals to the top the last 5 minutes of baking...mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
This is a nice biscuit-like shortcake recipe. That is how I prefer my shortcake, but the previous recipe I had used took 1 c of butter - which is a bit much for me. So, I used 1/2 c butter instead of the shortening (I don't usually add fats; in fact I generally cut back on what a recipe says but this is biscuits.) I used 3 T demera sugar instead of the white sugar - I think demera adds a nice crunch. I also added about 3/4 tsp cream of tartar - I think it really enhances the flavor of the biscuit. My baking powder is rumford - so no tinny taste - so I used the full 4 tsp. I finished mixing by kneading a couple strokes on floured surface, then patted the dough out and cut circles with a biscuit cutter. Baked for 10 at 425. I do not sugar my strawberries, but I do add some to my cream, although we ate these with icecream instead. They were perfect! Dense and soft and flaky! I will be using this as my strawberry shortcake recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitvet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Personally I do not care for biscuit type shortcake but my husband loved it. I sprayed mini buntcake pan and sprinkled with sugar, rolled small logs to just fit the the bottom of the pans. They rose slightly and looked great as individual shortcakes. The family love them for my husbands birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Made this recipe for some Bunco girls and they all came back for seconds . . . need I say more!!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wade
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
really really good. To make it a little lower in fat i just used fat free cool whip and worked just the same. Tasted Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Made this for company last night...had an incredible wow factor when I brought it to the table! I would definitely reduce the baking powder to 2 T. rather than 4 T...was a little bitter. Also, the whipped cream needed some sugar and vanilla beat into it for additional flavor. Incredibly easy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by k8norris
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wonderful!! I followed the suggestions by others. 2 tsps of Bp, 1/4 c sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla. I wanted it to be a large shortcake like the pic, to instead of baking it in a pan I freeformed a large biscuit about 8 in and baked it on a silpat. It was wonderful, cut beautifully and was not dry or crumbly. i will definetly make this again. I also added vanilla to my whipping cream and sugar. I also dusted the top of the shortcake with red sanding sugar, this added a nice sweetness and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Everyone loved it, even my picky mom. I used butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Everyone needs to know that I do not consider myself an expert at all. So I followed the recipe carefully. I have found the batter being tooooo dry, and I added extra milk. I think I added tooooo much milk, because after "cooking" it. The inside did not cook at all, and the outside came out to hard that you can not even cut through. I wish this recipe describe how the batter should be before putting it in the pan. To me it came out an disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States