Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Made this recipe for some Bunco girls and they all came back for seconds . . . need I say more!!! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Wade
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
really really good. To make it a little lower in fat i just used fat free cool whip and worked just the same. Tasted Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Made this for company last night...had an incredible wow factor when I brought it to the table! I would definitely reduce the baking powder to 2 T. rather than 4 T...was a little bitter. Also, the whipped cream needed some sugar and vanilla beat into it for additional flavor. Incredibly easy and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by k8norris
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wonderful!! I followed the suggestions by others. 2 tsps of Bp, 1/4 c sugar and 1 tsp of vanilla. I wanted it to be a large shortcake like the pic, to instead of baking it in a pan I freeformed a large biscuit about 8 in and baked it on a silpat. It was wonderful, cut beautifully and was not dry or crumbly. i will definetly make this again. I also added vanilla to my whipping cream and sugar. I also dusted the top of the shortcake with red sanding sugar, this added a nice sweetness and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k8norris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Everyone loved it, even my picky mom. I used butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Everyone needs to know that I do not consider myself an expert at all. So I followed the recipe carefully. I have found the batter being tooooo dry, and I added extra milk. I think I added tooooo much milk, because after "cooking" it. The inside did not cook at all, and the outside came out to hard that you can not even cut through. I wish this recipe describe how the batter should be before putting it in the pan. To me it came out an disaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francesca

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katydid68
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I made this shortcake last night following all of "Luv to cook's" advice. This is another winner. I'm only giving it 4 stars because the reviewers suggestions is what made the shortcake. I made six bisquits. I just spooned it out onto a cookie sheet which I had sprayed with Pam. Didn't need to dust with flour. Wonderful recipe with the tweaks. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This was an easy recipe to do. In fact, I had my daughter help me. I did mess it up, but I liked it like that...I added all the sugar to the dough. Why did I rate it a four? I was hoping it wasn't like a biscuit recipe, and it was. Otherwise, quick easy, and tastey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Here are some pro tips, straight out of MY hood: 1. This is best served right away, as everything tends to get slimy after too long. 2. I didn't have a pastry blender so I used a whisk and it worked OK. The whip't cream was OK but not as easy / cheap as Whipple Top or whatever the storebought brand is. Kind of hard to cut/serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Eat like a Goat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
The cake came out great. I made it for the little girl I'm babysitting and she absolutely loved it. She ate a almost half of it herself. I did it exactly as the original recipe directed. I might change add a little bit of my own touch in there next time i made it. But overall great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 308) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States