Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I liked the texture and flavor of the shortcake. I stuck with the shortening, but only used 2tsp. of baking powder and increased the sugar to 1/4c. as others suggested. I divided the dough into 8 mini shortcakes instead of 1 big one. Next time I will cram them into a 9" cake pan so they can rise against each other and the sides of the pan. Hopefully that will give them a little more loft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
I made this strawberry shortcake with a 7-year-old and it turned out beautifully. He was able to do everything by himself (of course with a little bit of direction from me) and the shortcake turned out beautifully! There was a lot of great homestyle flavor in the shortcake itself, then the strawberries just added the summer tang. Great recipe, especially for making with kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Wow! Big hit with everyone. I am glad a read the reviews first. I made mine with butter and half and half. Perfect. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This is definitely old fashioned shortcake! The way shortcake was meant to be! Without using storebought "shortcake cups" that taste like a twinkle...or a pound cake! This is .good, old school basic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springergirl67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Delicious! I too decreased the baking soda to 2 teaspoons and used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rachaelgrae
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This is incredible. I also cut the baking powder in half like others and would recommend it. Everyone that ate it raved all night about it, it is deffinantly going to be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelgrae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I HAD TO MAKE IT 2 TIMES TO MAKE SURE I DIDN'T MISS SOMETHING AND MESS UP THE RECIPE...I JUST DIDN'T THINK IT HAD ANY FLAVOR !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Sooooo yummy! this was my first time baking a cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States