Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Recipe was easy and delicious. Making your own whipped cream would be better and needs a little more strawberries but it's really good and I would recommend it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bri benning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was made for my father-in-laws birthday. Very yummy but must be eaten right away or it becomes to soggy for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent shortcake that melts in your mouth. I used 5TB of butter because I was out of shortening. Still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Gleason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
A good recipe for a quick shortbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Perfect shortcake couldn't ask for more and it was really simple to put together. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
After reading other people's suggestions I lowered the baking poweder. Upped the sugar to 1/2 cup. It tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette Code-Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
WOW! I was looking for a REAL Strawberry Shortcake recipe, and found it right here. Strawberry Shortcake is supposed to have a biscuit texture, so the berries don't get sloppy and gooey, and this is it. In the mid-late century, convenience processed foods came along and before anyone knew it, there went most of the great homemade cooking - in this case, one of the mass manufactured treats included single serving sponge cake in portions of six or eight which quickly took over the traditional flavor, texture and density. The Strawberry Shortcake then soon became a sticky, over soaked mess which had the texture of pudding with strawberry seeds in it providing the only discernible texture. All it took to accomplish this atrocity was a quick trip to the grocery chain store, pick up a six pack of single serve sponge cake, grab a can of processed whipped cream in a can, and some frozen strawberries. GACK. It might have made your kids quiet for awhile, but it was a lame excuse for the real thing. And the kids knew it. This recipe is for the real thing. The cake serves mostly as a structure; if you serve it warm (like most people do) it's strong enough to keep it's shape, but soft enough to absorb the taste of the fruit, which in turn supports the whipped cream. The end result is the cake getting it's flavor - strawberries and cream, without turning to mush. If you are looking for a strawberry cake, this isn't it. Google that recipe instead. This is the authentic Strawberry Shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
It's supposed to taste like a sweet biscuit--not cake. My family loves this--it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
It turned out like a biscuit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Litegal1
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
With the exception of (as others mentioned) a terribly strong baking powder taste (and I only used 3 tsp), these were fantastic. Next time, scale bp down to 2 tsp or use alum free stuff. I had no problem whatsoever with excessive crumbing - mine were pretty much perfect. I used mini 4" cake pans (with a little over 90g dough in each pan) for 12 minutes. Came out with 6 lovely cakes. Which we devoured. Thanks so much for recipe! Oh - note to self: these really are just like biscuits (would make a nice basic recipe). If making again, either add a tad more sugar and/or sprinkle some sugar on top before baking. If I want to. Because they really were just fine as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States