Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by EriCa Kratts
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I followed the directions to a T. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EriCa Kratts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
I made this receipe twice in one week ; two different parties; easy to make and whow the compliments kept coming . Even delicious next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susie hoyle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
These are so easy and make a perfect amount. I used 3 teaspoons of powder and 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. Perfect for all those summer strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was the strawberry shortcake I made for my family on fathers day. It was not a success, my family agreed that it was all very needing of sugar. The shortcake itself was delicious but the rest did not compliment its taste. The heavy whipping cream also needed added sugar to it. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I thought this recipe was fantastic! The shortbread, I did with butter, but I'm betting that shortening would be just fine. I made it to the letter, with one exception - I didn't add the softened butter to the layer of cake. Next time the only change is I would cut down the sugar to the strawberries to half. That's the only change I'd make. GREAT recipe - love the shortcake - so easy and super yummy. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pascoag, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NK123
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
It was incredible! It is not too sweat, its just perfect! I served it at a family gathering and everyone loved it! Also you might want to try reducing the amount of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
I have to give 5 stars The only thing I changed I used butter instead of shorting because of personal preference This recipe don't need more sugar or less baking powder I made many strawberry shortcakes and this is by far the best recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leni

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I ended up with a pile of baked crumbs. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
I added sugar and reduced the baking powder, and it was soooo good. Wondering if I could make it a day ahead. Would the shortcake dry out do you think?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
In my ignorance, I expected this cake to be like the little round, yellow cakes sold in the groceries near me (in California in strawberry season. I was wrong. This recipe makes a sweet cake like a biscuit. I'm not saying that's a bad thing. It's probably more authentic than what I am used to. But just be aware that's what you are making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Glazed Doughnut Strawberry Shortcake

Split glazed doughnut layered with sweet strawberries and freshly whipped cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States