Strawberry Shortcake with Cheesecake Whipped Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by sophie
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a highly variable recipe. Our local grocery makes their angel food cake cloyingly sweet, so please add more sugar to the whipped cream cheese or strawberries if it needs more sweetness. I also don't go too crazy with mashing the strawberries because this is a dish I make for picnics and I don't want it getting all soggy while it sits. I would definitely pulverize a good portion of the strawberries if I was digging in immediately. I'm glad people are enjoying my concoction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Good combo! Next time I will add more sugar, as I felt the whipped cream wasn't quite sweet enough. I layered this with cubed angel food cake and sliced strawberries for a nice change of pace over a slice of angel food topped with strawberries an whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
this was a big hit. it was easy to make. The next time, Ill use less cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysti N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This was delish! Me and husband loved the cheesecake flavor it had, I would rename this 'Strawberry cheesecake shortcake.' Another review said it was a little dry, so I added 1/3 cup(ish) of strawberry preserves to the strawberries, and instead of gently mashing them as the recipe suggests, I pulverized them until it was nice and juicy. I ended up not having any powdered sugar or vanilla on hand, I used a little honey to sweeten it up. I also didn't layer it in a bowl, just used a cake pan with less amount of layers. If you have the patience, let it sit overnight in the fridge to really let the layers blend, because it was definitely better the 2nd day. Give this one a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darklilly101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe. The whipped cream was great with the cream cheese. I made this into a cake using an angel food cake. Cut it in half and put the strawberries in the middle with some cream. Frosted the rest of the cake with the whipped cream and added half strawberries on top. A big hit for my moms birthday!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this for Faceless Frenzy July 2012. It is a beautiful dessert but just a little dry. A strawberry glaze would solve that. A nice way to showcase summer berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
The whipped cream with cream cheese is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States