Strawberry Shortbread Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This was yummy! I made this for Easter dessert and it was a hit! I made a deep dish shortbread crust out of pecan sandies and butter and baked it about 10 minutes. Then I just heaped on the strawberries! The glaze was still pourable when I put it on the pie. Had to sort of stir the berries to get it to seep down to the bottom. Very easy and pretty spring dessert--thanks, Sherry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Easy and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this for Mother's Day and it was incredible! I've always bought my strawberry pies from Marie Callendars but this recipe is as good, if not better, than the restaurant's version. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I made this for my family and they all loved it. I didn't use a shortbread crust because I don't eat butter but it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was alright. I tried substituting a shortbread crust that was homemade and it ruined the pie. Go for the good old store made standby for this and you'll be good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Abington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This was an excellent pie and so easy. Next time I make it, though I am going to add a bit less sugar - I found the glaze/Jello mix too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sheri O.
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
To me the shortbread version of strawberry pie is the best. I wanted a sweeter glaze and used 1 cup sugar with 1 cup water with the 3 T. cornstarch and package of strawberry gelatin. I also kept my strawberries whole. I made a homemade crust of 1/2 cup ground shortbread cookies (ground in food processor) then added 1/4 cup sugar, 1/2 cup flour and 1 cold stick unsalted butter cubed. I pulsed this in my food processor and formed this in a pie dish. I baked it at 350 for 20 minutes. Let it cool before adding the strawberries and glaze. A wonderful way to enjoy fresh summer strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
This pie is awesome! I followed the directions exactly and the pie set up beautifully and did not fall apart when cut into pieces. Next time I make it, i'll probably up the sugar to 1 cup and add a bit more corn starch to make up for it. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla after cooking. But that is my own personal preference. As is it's still a great pie. I made the shortbread homemade from another recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States