Strawberry-Sauced Crunchy Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
When I make this in a trifle bowl, I put a tall glass in the center of the bowl and fill it with the sauce. I layer the fruits around the glass, and put a spoon in the glass so everyone can take as necessary. Yes, the recipe does make a lot of crunch, but I love to have the extra around for ice cream or whatever. Also, the original recipe called for walnuts or filberts in the crunch. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I really love this recipe! I used almonds instead of the hazelnuts and subsituted half of the apples for peaches which turned out to be my favorite part of the salad. The peaches with the strawberry was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Excellent! I did use only diffent kinds of apples instead of adding the extra fruits like the orange or pineapple and it was still fantastic. I didnt have hazelnuts so I substituted more rice krispys and Walnuts instead. My whole family loved it. This really was an excellent way to get a few servings of fruit in a meal. My family even stopped eating our main dish and focused on this fruit salad. Thanks for the recipe, its a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Made this for the 4th of July. Everyone loved the crunchies on the top. I used sliced almonds instead of hazelnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2005
Delicious! I used sliced almonds instead of hazelnuts and used a larger variety of fruits (nectarines, grapes, strawberries, apples, pears, plums, etc.) The sauce is more watery than creamy, so I used it as a dressing and mixed it in the fruit rather than coating it on top. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Very good. I substituted oatmeal for the nuts to work around a nut allergy. Worked very well, but we had lots of extra topping. (tastes good on ice cream). Will make again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Amazing! Everyone loved it! It's so sweet, without a lot of sugar. Will DEFINATELY use again, and again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
I made this recipe for an Eagles club family night. They wanted a "salad" and I wanted to bring something different than the typical macaroni or jello type salad. I made this recipe and it was a HIT! I had so many people asking for the recipe for it. I agree with a previous reviewer, in that the sauce is too runny to layer over the top. I just mixed it all together. I also substituted canned mandarin oranges for the oranges in the recipe, and walnuts instead of hazelnuts. Also, I live in a small town and was unable to find "vanilla sugar". In fact, I've never even heard of it. So, to compensate, I added 1 more T of powdered sugar and then a T. of vanilla extract. An excellent recipe! I can see making this over and over again. My 2 year old neice refused to eat anything else once she tasted this salad. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
Excellent recipe. Everyone loved it. I substituted mandarin oranges for the orange sections. We liked it best when we kept the strawberry mixture frozen until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I took this to a mom's brunch and this was a huge hit! I used walnuts and also substituted mandarin oranges for the oranges. It's something fun and new for fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Rutt

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States