Strawberry Roses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These were heavenly! I don't know what the problem was for the previous user and the cheese, first I don't know how long you beat the cheese for but I did mine for about 2 minutes and it was nice and smooth, no chunks at all.. maybe your cheese was bad or you beated for too long or not enough? Secondly, I see marascapone in almost every grocery store I go in. I would think cream cheese would give it a whole different taste. Anyway, the only problem I had was for them making it to the serving platter. lol This recipe also made about 16 medium plump strawberries for us and was a huge hit! Will definitely make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Its a really cool desert! Great job! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
These things are out of this world!! Oh my gosh they're so good! None of us could stop eating them. Even the men were silent (other than moans) when they bit in to them. Yes... they're that good. I followed it to a T other than i couldn't find the mascarpone cheese so I used philidelphia cream cheese. Makes a TON of filling though... you can do way more than 16 berries. I also dipped the ends of some of the berries in chocolate, let it set, then put filling in. Awesome!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARLA66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Pretty good but I have to confess, I used cream cheese because I could not find mascarpone. I live in rural area so we don't have alot of what is avaliable at most stores. This worked great with the cream cheese though. I thinned it with a little milk and beat it for a few minutes so that it would fluff up a bit. I am excited to make these for family summer get togethers with farm fresh strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Wow, everybody went crazy about it! a really huge success with no fuss at all: I served these beautiful roses at my kid's Confirmation party, and got rave reviews. I used cream cheese (the lighter version, less fat than the regular and extremely less fat than mascarpone cheese!), didn't bother with the sugar and used simply granulated sugar I had handy, and a tablespoon of lemon juice, that's all. Delicious and impressive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Wow - whole family LOVED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
The directions for this are misleading; they should read 'gently mix together the cheese, powdered sugar, and vanilla'. Beating the cheese causes it to separate. Even thought I am an accomplished cook, mascarpone cheese is not easily found and so I have not ever used it.When I found this recipe I thought it would make a great topping for a lemon chiffon cake I was making for a party, and since I follow directions to the letter proceeded to BEAT the cheese...... so I ended up with $6 of cheese down the drain and a concoction that looked like ricotta! The flavor was good, but I thought a tad sweet so I would recommend cutting the sugar by 1/2 a cup. I ended up using this recipe but with cream cheese (and not as much sugar) and it turned out great for my cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABYLADY4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Bluff, Illinois, USA
Living In: Weyauwega, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
A slightly sweet, creamy treat. Next time I'll sift the confectioner's sugar to avoid lumps. I didn't have coarse sugar and didn't think of rolling the strawberries in granulated sugar; it probably would have helped the tartness of a few of the strawberries. I halved the recipe and it was plenty for the two of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Very time consuming but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Brown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cedarburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Mine turned out too runny, I don't know what went wrong. Maybe I just needed heavier whipped cream, but the sauce just ran right out of the berries. It did make clean-up a little more fun though (if you know what I mean)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Pavlova

Watch Chef John make a beautiful strawberry dessert from Down Under.

Fresh Strawberry Granita

A gorgeous and simple frozen strawberry dessert.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States