Strawberry Romaine Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
UPDATE: I SENT MY NEIGHBOR HOME WITH LEFTOVERS (I SERVED THIS SALAD ALONGSIDE THE CHICKEN TORTILLA CASSEROLE WE HAD FOR DINNER) AND SHE LOVED IT. HER HUSBAND LOVED THE DRESSING AND DRIZZLED IT OVER CUT UP CELERY. IT'S A MATTER OF PREFERENCE, I GUESS. I STILL STAND TRUE TO MY INITIAL RATING BUT WANTED TO LET THE AR COMMUNITY KNOW THAT MY NEIGHBORS COULDN'T GET ENOUGH OF THIS. :) I hate to be the downer here, but this was not nearly as good as I hoped it would be. Having said this, I think the addition of toasted or candied nuts, cubed chicken or even mandarin oranges would take this over the top! As is, this was a tad too bland for my liking. The dressing was good (not WOW!), but I felt the salad itself was lacking "oomph." I also didn't care for the Romaine in this (I guess I prefer strawberries paired with spinach). Maybe this will float your boat, but I'm going to keep searching for the perfect summer salad. Thanks anyways, Mary! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Very very good salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Sensational! Makes lots of dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I took this to our family Easter celebration. It was very good! I put a little more lettuce in which seemed to tone down the sweetness of the dressing and used red onions instead of Bermuda onions. It was a refreshing change to our usual holiday food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
This is a great recipe, AND it is even better if you lighten it up a bit. I use skim milk, reduced fat mayonnaise, and Splenda every time I make it, and it is awesome. I also garnish it with ¼ - ½ bag of Almond Accents Honey Roasted Sliced Almonds AND ¼ - ½ bag of Almond Accents Italian Parmesan Slides Almonds (Usually found near the bagged lettuce or in the salad dressing aisle). Thanks for the great, refreshing salad recipe! It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I opted to use mixed greens instead of romaine and spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I absolutely love this salad! My kids love it, too - and I have 4, so that is something. The dressing is easy peasy to put together and shake in the mason jar. I omit poppyseeds because one of my kids is allergic to them, but other than that, I stick to the recipe. I also use a fat-free mayo to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This was REALLY good. I did not have spinach but it turned out great. I added just a touch less than the sugar that was called for, but not by much. Loved it. I am having it for lunch the second day in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
very good! I made a few minor changes. I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo and black raspberry infused white wine vinegar. I used part Splenda and part sugar, too. I added feta cheese and bacon bits to the salad. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I have been making this salad for years and it's an all-time favorite & sure to please anywhere you take it...just be sure to toss right before serving. In my version of the dressing I use less poppy seeds (a little go a long way!) and I also add 1 tsp. of pure almond extract...it adds a fabulous twist to the flavor of the dressing and goes great with the strawberries. I also add candied almonds and use only romaine...no spinach...but I think a little spinach would be ok. A mayo-type dressing seems to me like it would be too "heavy" for those tender spinach leaves. This is such an excellent summertime (or anytime!) salad! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Judy’s Strawberry Pretzel Salad

See how to make an astonishingly delicious dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States