Strawberry Ricotta Stuffed Whole Grain French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I found this recipe quite good. I did as another reviewer did and cut my strawberries thin and because of that I had no problem flipping them. With the extra strawberries, I cut them up and put sugar on them and once these were finished cooking, I put the fresh strawberries on top. Quite amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyenfrance

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was very delicious with the addition of a tsp of orange zest added to the ricotta mixture. It would get 5 stars even without that though. I made this as written, using buttermilk. I had a feeling the milk/egg mixture would make too much, so started with half the amount, and it was perfect as I had just enough for the four servings. Topped with berry honey butter, syrup and whipped cream on top for a perfect Mother's Day breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My family loved this recipe! THinks for helping me become the holiday chef with the rave reviews! I changed the strawberries to raspberries and blueberries and added cinnamon to the ricotta and sugar filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I made this for Christmas morning. I mixed ricotta and cream cheese with some Splenda. I made a few of them with sliced Hawaiian bread and the rest with wheat bread. I had a little bit of frozen mixed berries so I used them up. For the rest I used a low-sugar strawberry jam. We topped them with Redi-Whip and they were a hit! These can be made with almost any kind of bread and fruits. Experiment and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgann62

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this for Sunday morning brunch for my family. It was an instant classic. We used country white bread and in addition to the strawberries, I added blueberries and fresh banana. We didn't have fresh strawberries, so I used frozen strawberries and frozen blueberries. My 7 year old said, "This is OVER THE TOP -- DELICIOUS!!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I have made this recipe twice now and it was great both times! The first time i used sweet bread, of course not as healthy, but it was great! I made it a little healthier by using egg whites and fat-free ricotta cheese and it still was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
No ricotta, just trim cottage cheese. I let it drain using a fine strainer for about 15 minutes, pushing out some of the moisture out gently with my spatula. I used a day-old whole wheat I had on hand and chopped the strawberries VERY fine. My kids liked this, I cut the recipe in half just for them. I had a hard time keeping the filling inside the french toast. I think next time, instead of using granulated sugar, I might use powdered. It might thicken up the mixture and make it have a little sticking power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
We thought this was good. We added freshly picked blueberries, which added some nice flavor. I am not sure how you are supposed to flip these without the insides falling out - we used toothpicks to hold the sandwiches together while cooking. Also, I think you can reduce the number of eggs for dipping - we had tons of leftover egg/milk mixture. I think you'd be fine with three instead of the recommended four. We'll make these again with some modification.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States