Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Obviously I love this sauce or I wouldn't have created it and posted it. I hope everyone else enjoys it and makes it their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This sauce is delicious and easy to make. I used frozen rhubarb because there was no fresh available yet and thus had to cook it a little longer. Mashed it with a potato masher and it was great. I didn't use any food colouring and it still looked beautiful in my pink depression glass pitcher and on the vanilla ice cream. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Mmm this was delicious! I didn't have red food coloring so it didn't look as pretty, but tasted great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
Absolutely fabulous. I made it to go on top of a no-bake cheesecake I was throwing together. I didnt use food coloring but I dont really think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I did not have rhubarb, so I just used frozen mixed berries. It was soooo good. I used it over waffles. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dorindaleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This is the first time I've used Rhubarb and I'm really happy I picked this recipe to try it in. I thought the sauce was absolutely delicious & so did my husband & 10 yr. old daughter, my 6 & 4 yr. olds liked it but complained they didn't like the rhubarb pieces....they always find something to complain about though so next time I'll chop the rhubard instead of slicing it so the picky ones won't even notice it. Excellent recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aksilva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Wonderful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
SIMPLE AND FANTASTIC ! THANKS FOR SHARING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for just rhubarb sauce but was unimpressed with the ones on this site. I used this recipe but used 4 cups rhubarb and no strawberries. Still used the 2/3 cups sugar, maybe a little more because of the extra tartness, and I didn't have plain orange juice so I used one of my kids fruit & veggie raspberry orange drinking boxes. It tasted AMAZING and snuck a few more nutrients in there too! I also blended mine after it was cooked and cooled because we like a smoother sauce. In my opinion the juice and the vanilla make this sauce as good as it is! Don't use those recipes that are just fruit and sugar. AWESOME recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Oh man, this recipe is amazing and is nothing like the rhubarb sauce I grew up with. There is so much added flavor with the OJ and vanilla extract. Any combination of berries would work with this "base" recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States