Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
My son says, 'Mom? This smells like Heaven!' I ran out of corn starch and substituted tapioca. It's a little chunky but otherwise nice and thick. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carluzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Very tasty! I added about 2T orange liqueur and thinned it down a bit with a little more OJ. Poured it over Pomegranate gelato..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kimberly, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
StrawberryRhubarb Sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This is tasty! And was so easy. I used more rhubarb than the recipe. Just added a bit more sugar. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
Awesome recipe! We ate it on vanilla ice cream, but froze the leftovers. Everyone licked their bowls clean. The only change that I made was that I used 3 cups of frozen rhubarb and only 2 cups of strawberries. I had to use another two teaspoons of cornstarch, because of added water from the frozen rhubarb. This is a great recipe. Thanks, Shalaine_1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This sauce is so good that it has become a Sunday morning breakfast tradition over waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Absolutely wonderful - Great colour (w/o the added colouring) and taste... A recipe that even an old retired guy with two thumbs can manage. So glad I made an extra large pot, there "might" be enough to share! Good job and, thanks for the recipe... Dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Great recipe, easy to make. I probably added a bit more rhubarb than the recipe called for, I didn't measure. The taste was great, we served this over French toast and it was a hit at my house! I'll be making again this weekend to have with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Peterson Bohland

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I didn't have any cornstarch so I won't rate based on thickness. I followed the advice of several others who went with 4 cups rhubarb, 1 cup strawberries. After it was cooked, I separated it into one part more solids, and one part that was more of a liquid. It was delicious, although I felt that the orange juice was a little overpowering. I made it a second time, but added about a shot of bourbon (to die for). Still, I think next time I'll do something to reduce the orange-y taste. Regardless, it was so good over Ben & Jerry's vanilla ice cream. Looking forward to pancakes tomorrow morning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I've used this recipe, with three berry frozen fruit from Costco, several times now over a lemon pound cake. The flavors in the lemon, berries and orange juice compliment each other very nice. I'm taking it to a potluck lunch today and know it will go over very nicely. thank you for a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Westlake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States