Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I've made this recipe 3 times now. By far, the BEST. Consistent. No one wants to wait until it's cool enough! The crust is like my mother's, only it's better ( sorry, Mom ), since the order of ingredients and how it's put together makes sense. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
What a fantastic pie :) I used my mother's crust recipe, and it was fine, but this recipe was excellent! And everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I think this is the best Pie I have ever made! And I couldn't believe how easy it was! Awesome Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Great taste. Enjoyed the crust recipe. It was easy and very tender. The Rhubarb and Strawberries are a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This was surprisingly easy to make. I am not a "baker" and I had no problems making the crust - there was just not enough of it to have a top & bottom. Next time I will double the crust recipe, better to have too much than too little. The filling was great. I served it to my husband and his parents who all are tough customers to please and they all liked it. Although my mother-in-law said she never had it before with tapioca as a thickener, she usually uses flour so the taste was a little different to her. I thought it tasted great and will definitely make it again! Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Everyone liked this very much. Used bakers starch at the ratio od 5 cups sugar to 1 cup bakers starch with excellent resilts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I made this pie with the crust several times last summer and it was a hit each time. My usual homemade pie crust is very good but for ths particular pie I do like this one. I did not have any problem with the consistency, however I did sift the flour before measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I really like the strawberry rhubarb pie. However, I think the pie crust is the star of this recipe. I use this pie crust recipe all the time now. I turns out perfectly flakey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Strawberry Rhubarb Pie is my husband's favorite birthday treat. I have been making it for many years. I tried this recipe yesterday and I must say my husband said that this was my best one yet! I believe it was the tapioca and the right portions of strawberry and rhubarb. I to have been using a similar recipe for the crust, but use skim milk to cut the fat. Thank you. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was the first time I ever used rhubarb or baked a pie. This recipe made it very easy to do both! I didn't make the pie crust, I just used the store bought stuff. I might consider using it the next time I make the recipe, since it looks so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States