Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Was excellent and easy. However, I found the ingredient "5 stalks of rhubarb" a bit off - stalks come in various sizes! I used 2 cups chopped and it worked. Also I used only 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This pie was a mess! The tapioca never dissolved, it came out with little hard tapioca balls in it. If your suppose to use instant Tapioca it should say so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marie bond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Great recipe! Thank you for sharing! I used farm fresh rhubarb and strawberries and it really turned out wonderfully. Recommendations from someone who rarely cooks (me): Be ready with a little extra oil and milk, because the dough may be too dry to roll using the amounts in the recipe. Just add a little oil and a little milk and mix it in your hands until it’s sticky, but not too sticky. Also, you may not want to use the top piece of parchment, since it’s awfully hard to roll, when you can’t see it and it’s slipping all around ;-) Be sure you use the instant tapioca! (Don’t ‘prepare’ it, just use the dry stuff in the box.) Oh, and for the rhubarb – after slicing it into 1 ½ inch pieces, slice it once the long way, in order to bring out the flavor. For those of you that are worried about making a big mess in the stove, cover the bottom rack with aluminum foil, so you can catch any extra filling that might seep out. When sealing the pie, go around the edges with a fork – it give it a nice look. This was my first homemade crust and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
The filling in this recipe was very good, I did not try the crust because the refrigerated pie crusts are better than I make and save so much time. I will use this recipe from now on. I used about 21/2 cups rhubarb, 2 cups strawberries, slightly more sugar than the recipe calls for and 1/4 cup maybe just a hint more tapioca and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFELSMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe, but I would suggest using 1/2 t. nutmeg instead of 1 1/2 t. and 3/4 c. sugar. Other than that, I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I really like the strawberry rhubarb pie. However, I think the pie crust is the star of this recipe. I use this pie crust recipe all the time now. I turns out perfectly flakey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
The filling for this pie was quite tasty but rather runny, even after it had cooled completely. After prolonged chilling it got better. I had a lot of difficulty with the crust--I have to agree with some of the others in saying that it doesn't seem to have enough moisture to hold it together, and therefore is very crumbly and hard to work with (although the waxed paper does help a bit.) It turned out a lot thicker and tougher than my usual crust recipe. If you're just making this for everyday, you might dare to experiment with the recipe provided here but if presentation is important to you, I would recommend substituting your tried and true pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This was surprisingly easy to make. I am not a "baker" and I had no problems making the crust - there was just not enough of it to have a top & bottom. Next time I will double the crust recipe, better to have too much than too little. The filling was great. I served it to my husband and his parents who all are tough customers to please and they all liked it. Although my mother-in-law said she never had it before with tapioca as a thickener, she usually uses flour so the taste was a little different to her. I thought it tasted great and will definitely make it again! Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Made this dessert yesterday; with a few minor changes. With all of my pie crusts, before the pie goes in the oven, I take a long strip of aluminum foil & rim it around the outer edge of the pie crust. Ten minutes before done, I remove the foil. In this way, you will always have a nice crust -- no burnt edges. I also brush the top crust with egg wash & sprinkle with white sugar for added sparkle. Another variation is to just sprinkle the top with water & use turbinado Sugar In The Raw) for sprinkles. You can make several variations of pie slits; the easiest is to take a tableknife & insert into crust; make a small twist to resemble a bow tie. I have used mini cookie cutter shapes to vent the top crust also -- and reuse the cut out pieces as added decoration pressed along the outer edge of the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Filling is quite good and easy. Pie Crust didn't work for me at all. Liquid as stated not enough to make a ball, I needed to ad quite a bit more and then crust ended up too tough. Probably should have added more oil, less milk. In any case, it reminded me that unless you're an expert.....the frozen pie shells are better than most home-made attempts...and I'll stick with the fillings for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States