Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This was surprisingly easy to make. I am not a "baker" and I had no problems making the crust - there was just not enough of it to have a top & bottom. Next time I will double the crust recipe, better to have too much than too little. The filling was great. I served it to my husband and his parents who all are tough customers to please and they all liked it. Although my mother-in-law said she never had it before with tapioca as a thickener, she usually uses flour so the taste was a little different to her. I thought it tasted great and will definitely make it again! Thanks Deb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Filling is quite good and easy. Pie Crust didn't work for me at all. Liquid as stated not enough to make a ball, I needed to ad quite a bit more and then crust ended up too tough. Probably should have added more oil, less milk. In any case, it reminded me that unless you're an expert.....the frozen pie shells are better than most home-made attempts...and I'll stick with the fillings for creativity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
This recipe was good but the degrees in celcius was wrong and almost ruined it for me. I hope that this will get fixed because it is potentially a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
I've made this recipe 3 times now. By far, the BEST. Consistent. No one wants to wait until it's cool enough! The crust is like my mother's, only it's better ( sorry, Mom ), since the order of ingredients and how it's put together makes sense. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEERNNYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stowe, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2003
What a wonderful recipe! I did have a difficult time with the crust and ended up using a different crust recipe. The filling was perfect! I made it for my coworkers and it got rave reviews. Everyone who ate it said that it was the best strawberry rhubarb pie they had ever had. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I've never made a crust like this one, I found it easy and delicious - a definite must. The Strawberry-Rhubarb filling is delicious, but a little runny. I will have to work on making it thicker. Rest assured, I will use this recipe again! The nutmeg makes just the right spice. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
Great taste. Enjoyed the crust recipe. It was easy and very tender. The Rhubarb and Strawberries are a good combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
The flavor of the fruit filling is great, but I had a hard time with the pastry. I would NOT recommend using this pastry recipe. I tried it twice to no avail and ended using my grandma's pastry recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLCAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2002
What a fantastic pie :) I used my mother's crust recipe, and it was fine, but this recipe was excellent! And everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
Was excellent and easy. However, I found the ingredient "5 stalks of rhubarb" a bit off - stalks come in various sizes! I used 2 cups chopped and it worked. Also I used only 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States