Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
I really like the strawberry rhubarb pie. However, I think the pie crust is the star of this recipe. I use this pie crust recipe all the time now. I turns out perfectly flakey every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Made this dessert yesterday; with a few minor changes. With all of my pie crusts, before the pie goes in the oven, I take a long strip of aluminum foil & rim it around the outer edge of the pie crust. Ten minutes before done, I remove the foil. In this way, you will always have a nice crust -- no burnt edges. I also brush the top crust with egg wash & sprinkle with white sugar for added sparkle. Another variation is to just sprinkle the top with water & use turbinado Sugar In The Raw) for sprinkles. You can make several variations of pie slits; the easiest is to take a tableknife & insert into crust; make a small twist to resemble a bow tie. I have used mini cookie cutter shapes to vent the top crust also -- and reuse the cut out pieces as added decoration pressed along the outer edge of the pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
I made this pie with the crust several times last summer and it was a hit each time. My usual homemade pie crust is very good but for ths particular pie I do like this one. I did not have any problem with the consistency, however I did sift the flour before measuring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Easy a delicious. I usually don't use a first time recipe on company but I had fresh rhubarb and strawberries and couldn't resist. It received rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RELKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This is a GREAT recipe, but I would suggest using 1/2 t. nutmeg instead of 1 1/2 t. and 3/4 c. sugar. Other than that, I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This pie was a mess! The tapioca never dissolved, it came out with little hard tapioca balls in it. If your suppose to use instant Tapioca it should say so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
The filling is very runny and the nutmeg overrrides the great flavor of the strawberries and rhubarb. Nutmeg seems like it's just not the right flavor combo or maybe there is just too much of it in this recipe. Used frozen pie crust...probably my favorite part of the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
The filling for this pie was quite tasty but rather runny, even after it had cooled completely. After prolonged chilling it got better. I had a lot of difficulty with the crust--I have to agree with some of the others in saying that it doesn't seem to have enough moisture to hold it together, and therefore is very crumbly and hard to work with (although the waxed paper does help a bit.) It turned out a lot thicker and tougher than my usual crust recipe. If you're just making this for everyday, you might dare to experiment with the recipe provided here but if presentation is important to you, I would recommend substituting your tried and true pie crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
The filling in this recipe was very good, I did not try the crust because the refrigerated pie crusts are better than I make and save so much time. I will use this recipe from now on. I used about 21/2 cups rhubarb, 2 cups strawberries, slightly more sugar than the recipe calls for and 1/4 cup maybe just a hint more tapioca and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KFELSMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
Everyone liked this very much. Used bakers starch at the ratio od 5 cups sugar to 1 cup bakers starch with excellent resilts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Forks, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States