Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I made this pie for my mother today. Stawberry rhubarb pie is her favorite, and I had garden grown rhubarb I needed to do something with. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used half the amount of nutmeg, only because more seemed like too much to me. My mother said it is the best tasting strawberry rhubarb pie she's had. (And I asked her to be honest so I would know if I should stick with this recipe or not.) She said she liked the amount of nutmet I had and that more may have been too much. The garden fresh rhubarb may have been the secret. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megs
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
delicious! I made this for someone at work, everyone loved it! it does have a kick of spice, which was what made this pie so unique...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I tried this recipe exactly as written for Father's Day and it was awful!! There is way too much nutmeg, so you can not even taste the rhubarb. The pie was also not very full of berries or rhubarb per the recipe. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
i made this pie, and it is delicious. but instead of tapioca, i used cornstarch, because that was the thickener that i have on hand, it is alot easier and makes less of a mess. also i tried powdered sugar and a prepared graham cracker crust. and on top i put oatmeal cookies, to avoid the traditional pie calories. it turned out delicious... so i guess i used this recipe as a guideline, but i used about a pound of strawberries and 3 stalks of rhubarb. so every stalk isn't the same. and i deviated from the recipe, to add a twist. try it you guys, make it your own. it really works. good recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, California, USA
Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
followed the recipe exactly,let the pie rest in the oven for 20 or so minutes after it was turned off & the pie was perfect. Not runny,not floury ,just right!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
This was the first time I ever used rhubarb or baked a pie. This recipe made it very easy to do both! I didn't make the pie crust, I just used the store bought stuff. I might consider using it the next time I make the recipe, since it looks so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Strawberry Rhubarb Pie is my husband's favorite birthday treat. I have been making it for many years. I tried this recipe yesterday and I must say my husband said that this was my best one yet! I believe it was the tapioca and the right portions of strawberry and rhubarb. I to have been using a similar recipe for the crust, but use skim milk to cut the fat. Thank you. This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Granger, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I really did not care for this. My strawberries and rhubarb were pretty soggy. Maybe rhubarb is just not my "thing".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Great recipe! Thank you for sharing! I used farm fresh rhubarb and strawberries and it really turned out wonderfully. Recommendations from someone who rarely cooks (me): Be ready with a little extra oil and milk, because the dough may be too dry to roll using the amounts in the recipe. Just add a little oil and a little milk and mix it in your hands until it’s sticky, but not too sticky. Also, you may not want to use the top piece of parchment, since it’s awfully hard to roll, when you can’t see it and it’s slipping all around ;-) Be sure you use the instant tapioca! (Don’t ‘prepare’ it, just use the dry stuff in the box.) Oh, and for the rhubarb – after slicing it into 1 ½ inch pieces, slice it once the long way, in order to bring out the flavor. For those of you that are worried about making a big mess in the stove, cover the bottom rack with aluminum foil, so you can catch any extra filling that might seep out. When sealing the pie, go around the edges with a fork – it give it a nice look. This was my first homemade crust and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States