Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
I made this today (with the crumble topping) and it was amazing! There was so much filling I ended up making two pies. As other users have said it's very sweet with the topping but my husband and I ate with some sharp old cheddar and loved it. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
This ones the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
MMMM, mmmm! I made this for a friend that loves strawberry-rhubarb pie and he said this one was the best ever. I did not stick to the recipe exactly, I omitted the orange (allergy) and only added 4 tablespoons of the tapioca (the perfect amount for my fruit). The tapioca amount really depends on how juicy your friut is anyway. This pie was wonderful and the topping was super yummy! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BIFAERIE79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poulsbo, Washington, USA
Living In: Platteville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I am now a rhubarb convert - this may have been my best pie ever! (even using the website to scale it down to a smaller pie, it was still perfect.) I made it w/ the crumb crust, with brown sugar instead of white, and it was tasty & gorgeous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Made exactly per recipe with the crumble topping. Incrediblly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
This pie was very simple to make and tasted great. I served it with vanilla ice cream and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Home Town: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This was delicious! A perfect mix of sweet and tart. I added some apples to the mix b/c I did not have enough rhubarb. I had enough fruit to fill 2 pies! I used the crumb topping recipe on this site. I did reduce the sugar by a 1/4 C. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I just took these out of the oven. I decided to double the fruit and do the crumb topping. I added less sugar to the fruit and to the topping as I prefer the sweetness of the fruit to shine thru. I also cooked them about 10 minutes longer and they still were not very brown so I upped the temp. back to 205 for 5 minutes. I also used a sourcream dough recipe from Canadian Living. As they sit right now they look runny, oh yeah I used 6 TBS. flout instead of tapioca(didn't have any)....not sure if that's why?? Can't wait to cut into one they smell horribly good;) They thickened upon cooling and yep they were horribly good. The orange zest was a good touch, also put a pinch of nutmeg in topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
First of all, it's ok. No one will taste this and say 'yuck' or refuse to eat it :-) However, problems: 7 cups fruit is too much to fit into a standard pie shell, this should call for deep dish; and the tapioca is probably too much in the first place but if, like me, you reduce it just a bit to reflect reduced amount of fruit (I used 5 TBSP), you will indeed get the gummy, somewhat jelly/pudding-like result others have described, a texture that can work with certain pies but not this one, imo. I used a top crust so no comments on the crumb topping, but it sounds like it would make a bit too much. Cooking time is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This is the best Rhubarb pie I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mora, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States