Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is the best rhubarb pie, I have ever made. My family loves it. I sometines use huckleberries in place of the strawberries, wonderful. Thank-you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Amazing. I didnt use the tapioca because I didnt have any on hand, but it was still soo good! My boyfriend said it rates highest of his all time fave pies, only behind his gmas french silk pie...not bad!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
I am from Michigan and I grew up having fresh strawberry/rhubarb pies made with stuff right out of the garden...and this tastes like home to me! There is a pie company in Michigan that has always had the best, and I'm not sure I could distinguish between the two! Great recipe...and with enough filling for 2 pies...you can't go wrong. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elizard100
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This recipe was incredibly easy to make and turned out perfectly. It did make two pies which was more than ok with us. I did not find it too sweet but this will likely be impacted by the strawberries and rhubarb that you use rather than the amount of sugar. Try tasting your strawberries and if they are very sweet then use less sugar. Mine were a little tart so the sugar was just right. The crumb topping was perfect. I got quick cooking tapioca and had no issues with that. The pie was not runny and there were no hard lumps from the tapioca. In fact the pie didn't even get to sit and cool as long as it should because barely a half hour after I took them out of the oven I caught my boyfriend into his second piece. Definitely runs over the pan but this makes it look oh so pretty when they're done. I've uploaded some pictures and the pies were even tastier than they look. I'll be making these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great dessert and definitely a 2 pie-pan recipe. I also substituted the tapioca for flour (based on other reviews) and it turned out fantastic. I used regular pie crust for the top, but will try the crumb topping next time. I also reduced the amount of rhubarb by about one half-cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
Made this for a church function. Wasn't sure how it would be received but people were requesting seconds. Should have made more than one. Didn't have tapioca so I used 3 T corn starch instead. Used the crumb topping and it was very good. Will be baking it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Great recipe thanks for sharing. My other half, who loves pie, said this was the best pie he's eaten! I followed the recipe as written, except I didn't have the orange zest, so I used dried orange peel about a 1/2 teaspoon. I also mixed the rhubarb, strawberries, sugar and tapioca as directed but let it stand for at least an hour (I've made it several times, the best was letting the fruit and tapioca sit overnight) before filling the pie crust. I wanted to give the tapioca a chance to soak in the fruit. I had enough ingredients to make 2 pies. I made the crumb topping, which was just right, not too sweet. Next time i might add a little cinnamon to the topping. Again, thanks for sharing this recipe, I'll definitely be using it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This was a very good recipe. The crumb topping really makes the pie. It was just sweet enough, not too tart, and the orange zest is a great flavor to add. Will keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUEBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Filer, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This was my first time using tapioca in a pie so I was a little bit nervous. It turned out wonderfully! I used frozen strawberries and rhubarb. It had a nice balance of sweet and tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I make it every summer and thanksgiving for my brothers birthday, his request. Its a yummy and perfect pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States