Strawberry Rhubarb Pie III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Bethapaine
Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Always a guest favorite! I get requests. I always do the crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
Good Recipe. I used the optional topping, but used Brown Sugar & Oats. I just made a deep dish out of this. I also pre cooked the rhubarb on the stove, in a bit of water until it was mash-able. I took others suggestions and cut down on the sugar in the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
I've made this pie several times. I use Grandma's Secret Pie Crust and its a perfect crust for this pie. This is my go to Strawberry Rhubarb Pie - thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
Loved this recipe and so did my family. Next time I will use less rhubarb and more strawberries but the amount of filling was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This pie is absolutely delicious. I elected to go with the crumb topping. Only thing I changed is I cut back on the sugar, using only 1 cup in the pie and a heaping 1/2 cup in the crumb topping. I also did not put the crumbing topping on right away, baked it on 400 for 10 min, then added the crumb topping. Turned out excellent! Would highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belgium, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fredonia, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Made this for beach party weekend. My husband finished it off before I could get a piece! He said it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I also cut back on the amount of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sebago, Maine, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I just made this for a 4th of July party and it got rave reviews!!! People really enjoyed the crumb topping. I used 3/4 cup sugar for the topping and it was perfect. I used 1/2 cup flour for the filling but it was still a bit runny so I would suggest a bit more if you use flour. Lastly, the filling was a bit sweet for me (I like a little tartness) so next time I might cut down the sugar for my own taste. I have been making rhubarb pies for many years and this was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I think this recipe is very good, but does require a few changes. The first change I made was to reduce the amount of fruit called for in the recipe. I found that 2 cups of rhubarb and 3 cups of strawberries filled the pie crust perfectly. I reduced the amount of sugar to 1 cup. I wish I would have reduced the amount of tapioca to 3 Tablespoons, 6 was way to much and made the texture rubbery. I omitted the orange zest and instead used the juice and rind of 1 lime. I had a small problem with some of the tapioca not cooking properly around the top of the pie. I used a lattice top crust, I feel that soaking the tapioca or letting the filling set before filling the pie will solve this problem. I cooked this pie for about 1 hour and 10 mins. The taste is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
The pie had awesome flavor and I loved the crumb topping instead of the pie crust. My tapioca didn't cook completely. I don't know if it was just too much or if I didn't cook it long enough. I did end up cooking it for an additional 10-15 minutes because it wasn't browning on the top, but everyone still loved it even though it was a bit crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States