Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
Really good pie, goes together quick...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
SUPER EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn Lichty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
This was wonderful. You do need to refrigerate it so it will "set". I made it for company and was so worried it wouldn't ever set. It did, and they all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Sugar sank straight to the bottom during baking - not so tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Very easy and delicious! Mine set up easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I have tried this recipe and it was delicious.Chef John does give clear instructions which make it easier to follow. Love his videos! I am wondering though if recipe was obtained from the "The Best of the Shaker Cooking" cookbook. Interesting that the ingredients are pretty much the same. The Shakers didn't use strawberries and covered pie with lattice crust..Oven temps somewhat different. Next time will make the Shaker's recipe and compare.. Claudette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles
Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This was a ho-hum recipe for me. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I baked the pie for longer than stated because the custard still seemed to jiggly after 1 hour. I bake for about 1 hour 15 minutes at 350*. Refrigerated overnight. The texture of the pie is just weird - I don't have a better way to describe it. There's a layer of set custard on the bottom of the pie. And then a layer of runny custard on top with fruit mixed in. The flavor is ok, but the texture is off for what I would expect from a pie. I really wanted to like this and have another rhubarb recipe to add to my arsenal, but the custard just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMadeWaffles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Otsego, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainwell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I didn't realize that I hadn't reviewd this recipe. I've made it a number of times. It is delicious. I don't change a thing. I plan on making it for a picnic this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made three of these for a Monday morning meeting. It was the day after Mother's Day and many of those attending had just had a rhubarb dessert over the weekend. Many of the people said that this pie was better than what they had for Mother's Day. It's a very simple and basic pie recipe with a really clean taste of the fruit. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I particularly liked the shiny glaze of the jelly. I'll be making it again as long as my friends keep providing me with fresh rhubarb. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States