Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Way too much sugar in this one--I would cut the sugar in half next time. I also baked it .5 hours longer; it didn't seem like it was setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missy huber
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe many times - I should've reviewed it a long time ago! Just like my gram used to make! I love it - I throw in a tablespoon granulated tapioca to thicken a little more and ad tsp vanilla to filling - also sub heavy cream for milk ( personal preference) I sometimes make galette w/ it which works fine as well -see pic I have won quite a few pie baking contests and have just qualified for state championship -if I say its great ...its great! Should've reviewed a long time ago! Also I am partial to most of chef johns recipes! Keep em coming!Great country style pie -not too many frills let's the fruit shine! Top w/ real whipped cream if you can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow, this is really sweet. Turned out well, super easy, but SWEET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great pie, I put only 1 cup of sugar. Made it slightly tart, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Caution..Delicious...but, way too runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Tried this pie once before and everyone loved it. Did one today only used Splendra and sugar - free strawberry jam by Smuckers. Just as good. Whoopie! Now I can enjoy without guilt. I didn't tell anyone it was sugar-free til later. All loved it and said they would never have guessed. Will use this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I'm making my second one right now. This came out great! Everyone in my family enjoyed it and that is a rare thing indeed. If you like rhubarb then this a nice pie to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was easy and delicious - even though I only used 2 eggs and didn't have the filling mixed as well as in the video (which I watched AFTER I put it in the oven. Oops!). I baked an extra 10 mins until it seemed more jiggly than sloshy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rouge
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Amazing recipe, my pie crust was smaller so I used 2/3 of the recipe. I baked for 45 minutes probably because of the smaller pie crust or my oven gets hot really fast but it turned out great! I skipped the last step (forgot about it ) but it was still great. Served it with ice cream but it tasted great without it too unlike most pies. It wasn't tangy bec, the custard tasted great and sooo easy to make. I added vanilla essence and cinnamon but no nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rouge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Substituted sugar with calorie-free sweetener (Truvia) and real eggs with cholesterol-free egg product. Added vanilla. Turned out to be quite good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States