Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Substituted sugar with calorie-free sweetener (Truvia) and real eggs with cholesterol-free egg product. Added vanilla. Turned out to be quite good! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauri
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Wonderful easy recipe w/lots of flavor. I haven't had a strawberry rhubarb pie since I was a young girl. I'm not a fan of a double crusted pie so this looked perfect. I wouldn't consider myself a baker by any means but after having a huge craving for strawberry rhubarb & watching Chef John's video, I knew I could handle this. I didn't have enough sugar so I only used 1 1/4 cups (it was still sweet enough). I did bake it an extra 10 minutes because I just wasn't sure that it was set, not sure I needed too. My mother, who is an experienced baker was impressed by the glazed fruit on the top (excellant tip to brush it w/warmed jam - presentation was great). It set beautifully after being in fridge. Will definately make again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times... With great success.. .. I was asked to make a few pies for a local community fund raiser and auction ... So now I can Boast that if you want my pies .. you'll need to pay a whopping $1000 each..... Thanks Chef John for sharing this recipe..!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This is a really easy, fun recipe. Everyone in my family loved this custard pie so much, I have made three in the past week. Using a prepared, frozen pie crust is not what I usually do but I agree that it makes this recipe go quickly and it tasted great. The custard filling is very generous in the 9" pie shell so don't over fill or you will have a mess in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Mine was not runny at all, but it had a little less liquid. I put in powdered milk and I didn't add the water, so the only liquid came from the eggs. I skipped the glaze on the top all together and I don't miss it. It really doesn't need that extra sweetness. The custard is well distributed and adds that extra flavor to the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is the best strawberry rhubarb pie I have ever tasted. Follow the recipe exactly as written, don't change a thing, it is perfect. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Really yummy. I had to make in a pinch so I used store bought frozen crust. The filling oozed out a lot. The glaze made such a difference to the look of the pie. Big hit at the table. Thanks again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Nice, sweet pie. A bit too sweet for my taste after adding the custard. I cooked 2 pies (one slightly longer than the other) and neither set even after many hours in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This pie is so easy to make & delicious. It does have to sit and chill to meld the flavors. Could not find fresh nutmeg in my store but going to search for the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I was very nervous when I made this bc I did it while my 1 yr old was taking a nap and was not able to get to the store but really wanted to try this. I ended up using what I had on hand which was 2 cups of strawberries and a cup and half of ruhbarb a 9 inch deep dish shell 1 cup and a quarter of sugar French vanilla coffe mate cuz I was out of milk apricot jelly for the glaze and I used cinnamon instead of nutmeg bc I was out. This tasted GREAT with that! Im sure if I had the proper ingredients this would be ridiculously outstanding! Thanks John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States