Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I made three of these for a Monday morning meeting. It was the day after Mother's Day and many of those attending had just had a rhubarb dessert over the weekend. Many of the people said that this pie was better than what they had for Mother's Day. It's a very simple and basic pie recipe with a really clean taste of the fruit. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. I particularly liked the shiny glaze of the jelly. I'll be making it again as long as my friends keep providing me with fresh rhubarb. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
Plate-licking good! I didn't cook it long enough at 65 minutes, probably because I used frozen rhubarb, but delish nonetheless. I also used less sugar (1 heaping cup) as others recommended and it was still plenty sweet even for my insatiable sweet tooth. Others raved about it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2015
This recipe is easy and it is AMAZING! Even my husband throughly enjoyed it, and he isn't a fan of fruit pies! this knew is definately going to be made again and again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2015
Made this with Tamale Casserole and everyone loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Crowell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
This was fantastic! The custard filling was just right, the juices didn't run all over the plate. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Fantastic! I'm not usually a custard pie person but this was easy and delicious. Perfect for warm summer days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Way too much sugar in this one--I would cut the sugar in half next time. I also baked it .5 hours longer; it didn't seem like it was setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missy huber
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I have made this recipe many times - I should've reviewed it a long time ago! Just like my gram used to make! I love it - I throw in a tablespoon granulated tapioca to thicken a little more and ad tsp vanilla to filling - also sub heavy cream for milk ( personal preference) I sometimes make galette w/ it which works fine as well -see pic I have won quite a few pie baking contests and have just qualified for state championship -if I say its great ...its great! Should've reviewed a long time ago! Also I am partial to most of chef johns recipes! Keep em coming!Great country style pie -not too many frills let's the fruit shine! Top w/ real whipped cream if you can
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy huber

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow, this is really sweet. Turned out well, super easy, but SWEET.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great pie, I put only 1 cup of sugar. Made it slightly tart, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States