Strawberry Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
As another reviewer said, it makes a LOT of filling, so I had two shells ready. This should be called a custard pie since there's no cream or milk involved. The eggs make a thick filling which sets up nicely. Also, be sure to keep the strawberry pieces relatively large; halve the smaller strawberries, cut the big ones into thirds. Cook at 400 for about 30 minutes and then reduce to 350 and cook another 15-20 minutes. Turn off oven and let the pie sit for 10-15 minutes. Let cool thoroughly before slicing. It'll cut cleanly. As another cook mentioned, don't put too much egg white or it'll brown too much. Comes out pretty! I reduced the nutmeg by half and added a dash of cinnamon. My husband scarfed it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe is fantastic. I've made it several times in the past couple of months for my husband. One of his co-workers said it was better than his mother makes! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheMadBaker313

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and it overflowed ALL over my oven - even into the drawer below. I had it on a cookie sheet too :( The pie tasted fantastic but my afternoon consisted of scrubbing, scrubbing and more scrubbing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacy&4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Eh. I found this pie to be a little disappointing. It wasn't bad and would be good for beginners since it is extremely easy. I used whole wheat flour and refrigerated the pie and it was not runny. It just wasn't as tangy and fresh-tasting as my usual strawberry rhubarb pie (strawberries, rhubarb, tapioca, sugar, butter and my secret ingredient- grated orange rind) and the filling was not a clear, pretty red, but a murky pink and beige instead. That said, I heard no complaints from the family, so perhaps I'm too picky?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
made this for mothers day and it was a huge success. never made a pie before and this was simple and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Aspen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
Perfection!! Both sweet and tart at the same time. Those who commented that it was like soup obviously served the pie soon after it was baked. I made this pie in the morning to serve for dessert after dinner and it was perfect and enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 23, 2007
fantastic!superfast and easy.not overly sweet, the strawberry/rhubarb combo is so delicious.i used storebought crust,fresh rhubarb(which we have tons of right now)and just under 3 cups of strawberries -used a little less nutmeg(ca 1/2 tsp)and also added some cinnamon(ca 1/4 tsp).my husband and i couldnt wait till it cooled and had to have a piece(with whipped cream :))filling therefore was just a tad runny but did set up after cooling.A winner for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altenkunstadt, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was my first attempt as cooking with rhubard---WOW !! this is a fabulous pie with great flavors and very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi
Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I stuck to the exact recipe and it turned out great. Will make again! A scoop of vanilla ice cream and it is the perfect spring dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSCOMPTON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yelm, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
Wow!! mixing the rhubarb and strawberry in a custard was a fantasic idea. I love how it holds its shape after being sliced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Marina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States