Strawberry Rhubarb Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I've been experimenting quite some time & this one is a keeper...was a little nervous about soupiness after reading reviews. So after chopping both rhubard & strawberries, let them dry on paper towels for about 1/2 hr to "dry" out. Not sure if this was the answer but it was fantastice & CREAMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
The custard was amazing! My husband really likes the pie he doesn't like things overly sweet - I tried a little and was not crazy about it, but he also had is ala mode. I would use more strawberries or cut them smaller for better distributions and sweetness. I used what was left in the bowl of the custard mixture for the glaze and covered the pie in tin foil until the last 5-10 mins. I made one hefty double crust pie by the time it baked down it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Very good cream pie. It does however make enough for two deep dish pies instead of one. Recommend you try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Excellent flavor and easy to make. For a slightly richer pie, include the extra yolk (left over from the white separation) in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I had high hopes, but I did not care for this recipe. The filling had a weird pasty texture and mottled pink color, and the taste was just not good. One slice and the rest did not get eaten--and I'm really not that picky about desserts either. I think it would be much better with a regular rhubarb/strawberry filling and custard made separately and added afterward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Made this pie and it turned out wonderfully! I drizzled it with heavy whipping cream before baking (mom always did this with her rhubarb pies) and did a lattice on top. Creamy and awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This pie was great! I don't usually attempt to bake fruit pies, as I do not normally have much success with them. They always come out soupy for me, it seems. I was hoping that the egg and flour addition would keep this pie from suffering the same fate. Success! Because several other reviewers said they had too much filling, I decided to scale the filling back a bit. I do not own a deep-dish pie plate. In fact, I did not own a pie plate at all, and bought some of those cheap aluminum ones from the grocery store. It worked just fine with my scaled back ingredients, which were as follows: 1 cup sugar, 3 tbsp flour, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 2 eggs + 1 egg yolk, 2 cups chopped fresh rhubarb, 2 cups halved fresh strawberries, 1 egg white, 1 double pie crust (I used the pre-made, unroll-and-bake pie crust). I covered the edges of the crust with foil to keep them from burning and baked the pie for 40 minutes at 400. It came out perfectly. My only complaint has nothing to do with the actual recipe. The strawberries I used were pretty flavorless, since they're not in season. I am going to make this pie again in the summer, when I can get local strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlotteMay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Consider using an alternative to egg, as egg is not a fruit.. Those whom had soupy pie, remember rhubarb and strawberries are full of water, so as they cook they will secrete juices.. for this I sprinkled a little corn starch over the ingredients to absorb some moisture, as well as vent holes in the top. The egg is used to bind.. I use whole pieces of rhubarb and strawberries, but instead of a pastry top, I make a lemon merange for the top. Turns out yum.. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seymour, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This is wonderful. Did not have enough strawberries, but just used the pound package on hand. As others have pointed out, really does have to cool COMPLETELY in order to remain intact when cut. Did not use the egg wash and it browned nicely anyway. Used lattice top crust. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This was so good that even the non-rhubarb people in my family were willing to try it.... and then ate it all up. haha. This was great recipe that reminded me of my mother trying to make rhubarb pie and would always end up making soup instead. It was still good. But this one was the best. Not runny at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States