Strawberry Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Gluten Free version: Replaced 3 cups flour with the following: 1 cup rice flour, 2/3 c tapioca flour, 1/3 cup corn starch, 1/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup sorghum flour, 1/3 cup millet flour. Added 3 tsp xanthan gum to this mixture. for the sugary topping I just replaced the flour with rice flour. This was fantastic. Perfect combo of cake, fruit, and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I just made this. However I didnt have any rhubarb, but I had some week old granny smith's. For topping I used half brown sugar half regular. It's awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
The cake was very bland tasting. I had to add cinnamon and cardamon to the crumb topping to give it taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ccooley
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have made this twice now and we absolutely love it! I used fresh rhubarb from our garden and fresh strawberries so added water to filling mixture. I did add more fruit to the filling the second time as we like the friut but it is still good as is. My husband loves strawberry rhubarb pie but I'm not a big fan but we both love this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ccooley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
First of all this recipe is TO DIE FOR!!! I made it last night, brought it to work today and people devoured it. This is just so good I have to make another one this weekend! I made the recipe as is. Did not make any changes to it at all. I did read all the reviews before, hesitated on if I would add cinnamon to it or not (have made aunt Norma's rhubarb muffins from this site, which have cinnamon in the topping and they are delish!) but decided in the end to just try it as is. I'm glad I did because it really is perfect just the way it is. The texture of the cake is amazing, the filling is divine and the topping is perfect My only advice, when you're making the filling, stir it constantly or it will most probably stick to the bottom of your saucepan even on medium heat. Frozen strawberries are watery enough that you don't need to add any water to it. The lemon juice won't make it too sour, don't worry about it. Like I said, the recipe is perfect as is. The batter of the cake is really really thick. You did not do anything wrong, you did not forget any eggs, it's supposed to be that way. When assembling the cake, after spreading the filling, as one reviewer said, just take a spoon and drop dollops of the batter on top of the filling. It probably won't cover the whole filling, mine didn't, not even close, but you will add the crumble topping after and once it cooks, the cake will spread and you won't see any filling, it'll turn out great. Thanks for this amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I think the original recipe is fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Absolutely love it! Strawberries and rhubarb are my favorites but the is never enough fruit for my taste. This recipe hits all the right spots enough fruit,cake rich but not overwhelming and topping sweet enough to complement the tartness of the rhubarb. I used frozen fruit from the store which I did not measure and it turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Fantastic recipe!! Didn't have buttermilk so used some milk with a splash of lemon juice in it. Used fresh strawberries and made a bit more strussel topping than stated (I didn't measure). Baked in two 9x5 foil tins so I could put one in the freezer. Cooked for 55min because it didn't seem quite set at 45-50 min but I probably could have gone with 50 (I was just being paranoid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This was great! I was a little concerned with the recipe (had to double check it) when there was no liquid with the fruit and sugar mixture. I was sure it would burn on my stove. But the fruit juices started to flow before it had a chance and it turned out just right! Lovely way to use rhubarb!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I didn't try the recipe exactly as written but made one substitution. I used brown sugar instead of white sugar for the topping. This was an excellent cake and I got a number of compliments on it. I will absolutely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Horeb, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States