Strawberry Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Fantastic. Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
it was good but not outstanding, like others I would double the filling. The filling to cake ratio is off in my families option. I would also reduce the sugar a lot especially in the topping, to me it was just sugar and nothing else. As I had fresh strawberries that is what I used instead of frozen, I just added some water to the filling which worked just fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was delicious. Hubby doesn't usually like the strawberry rhubard combo but he liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Quite delicious! I halved the recipe I put it in a 8x8 pan same cooking time, it came out relish!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I made this coffee cake but I did double the filling and I am glad I did.I used a little less than a cup of sugar for 4 cups of rhubarb and a pound of strawberries and may use even less sugar next time. I cooked the rhubarb alone and then added sliced fresh strawberries. I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg to the dry ingredients, the fruit and the topping. I also added about a 1/2 cup of oatmeal to the topping, and used half a cup of brown sugar and only a quarter of a cup of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
Excellent cake, have all ingredients prepped and you're good to go. The batter is very heavy so place it in the cake pan, by large spoonfuls, then press with back of spoon to spread. I used fresh rhubarb from the garden, and frozen strawberries, white sugar for cake and brown sugar, cinnamon and chopped walnuts for topping, I may have left too much for the top because when I took it out of the (angel) cake pan, the filling just flowed down the side of the cake. Or perhaps it wasn't quite cool enough. In any case it was a hit, it makes a substantial cake to feed a crowd of ten at least. A wonderful alternative for strawberry/rhubarb lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This may be a truly foolproof recipe. When I made it, having used a full quart of fresh strawberries (hulled and halved) and a bit more than the called-for rhubarb, I was concerned that I had too much filling ... and not enough batter, especially when I had only enough batter for about four non-connecting glops to optimisitically smear around on top of the "too-much" filling. I only hoped the crumb topping would somehow fill in the gaps. Surprise! The various elements apparently re-configured themselves during the baking. The finished coffeecake had a thin -- but sufficient -- layer of cake at the bottom ... and a nice layer of cake above the filling! Go figure! It got rave reviews from my co-workers! By the way, I forgot to add the lemon juice and did add a half-teaspoon of cinnamon to the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
The cake is NOT a batter. It had to be spread in the pan with the fingers or a spoon. When adding it over the filling, it was just dropped on in small clumps. The cake definitely needs more flavoring like cinnamon or nutmeg. It is very bland. A tip about the fruits. After washing them. dry them with a paper towel. Otherwise the filling will be too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindsay
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This cake is delicious! Instead of frozen berries, I sliced up fresh berries an used 1 3/4 cup. Next time I will probably use 2 1/4 cups of strawberries and 2 1/4 cup of rubarb. We like a little more filling in baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Gluten Free version: Replaced 3 cups flour with the following: 1 cup rice flour, 2/3 c tapioca flour, 1/3 cup corn starch, 1/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup sorghum flour, 1/3 cup millet flour. Added 3 tsp xanthan gum to this mixture. for the sugary topping I just replaced the flour with rice flour. This was fantastic. Perfect combo of cake, fruit, and topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States