Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicious! I added 1/2 tbsp cornstarch like everyone else and make cupcakes to take to work. They were so good and I got lots of compliments. Making cupcakes don't take as much puree and frosting, so I would probably half those the next time I make them. Trust me... ther WILL be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
I tried this recipe the first time because I left a strawberry cake in the oven too long and I wanted to see if I could save it. I'm SO GLAD I did. I've received marriage proposals because of this recipe, and it's so yummy and unbelievably easy to throw together. I like to use the instant white chocolate pudding and garnish with fresh strawberries and white chocolate curls when I make it, but the vanilla or cheesecake flavors are great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Glitter Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
This was excellent. I followed advice and added 1/2 tbsp corn starch to the topping mixture before adding to the cake. I refrigerated for about 2 hours after adding the strawberry puree before adding the whipped topping, then refrigerated overnight before serving. If you're noticing that the puree isn't sinking into the cake, poke more holes and sweep the puree over the holes with a spatula or spoon, that will force it into the cake. Ours held up very well and served beautifully. Everyone raved. I particularly liked how easy it was to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2006
This cake was a hit.I made it for Father's Day and got excellent reviews.I used a tall container of frozen strawberrire but I am wondering if a small container would be enough.Maybe I'll try it next time.I used 1 (8) ounce container of cool whip.(I guess that is about two cups).I also listened to other reviewers and added 1/2 tsp. of cornstarch to the milkbefore putting the milk in with the pudding.I am not sure if it would be ok without it or not.But at the end all that matters is the results and that is this cake is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook2
Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I make this all the time and everyone loves it. SUPER moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes! It's a big hit with my family and my co-workers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I have made this cake for almost every social function I have had to bake for. It is extremely simple and everyone raves over it. It has now become my most requested cake. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Great recipe! A couple hints: Add about 1/2 tbs. cornstarch to the milk before you add it to the pudding. Will make the frosting thicker. Also, when icing the cake, apply a thin coate of icing first -- that will cover some of the red puree. Then use a different utensil to spread large dollops of it over the thin coat. Voila, smooth icing with no red streaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Very nice change from the usual desserts I've made. I was complimented alot for it. Even though I thought I messed it up cause I used cook & serve pudding instead of instant. It was a little hard to spread the topping over the strawberry puree. Make sure U decorate it nicer than I did. Anyway, its worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
If you have trouble getting the strawberry puree to sink into the cake, make sure you make large and deep holes (try a wooden spoon's handle) about 1" apart. **To make this cake travel-safe, try cutting the cake into 1" cubes then layering it in a sealable bowl. Half of the cubed cake, half of the pureed strawberries, half of the pudding mix and repeat. Garnish with a few fresh strawberries and refrigerate! This is my family's favorite way to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States