Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
my hubby and I loved this one. We like the really simple flavor, moistness and the cold cake and topping in your mouth. Great for a meal at the lake or a family get together in the summer/spring!!! I want to try this with Cheesecake pudding for the topping. Oh- add a few crushed strawberries into the cake batter before baking. Keeps the cake moist, also i omitted the oil in the cake and used applesauce(same amount) and it turned out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I used one 16 oz bag of frozen strawberries and cooked them for a few minutes on the stove with 1/4 cup of sugar and a tsp of vanilla. It really helps because they aren't always sweet. To this, I added a handful of sliced fresh strawberries & pureed it. To the puree, I added a couple big handfuls more of sliced fresh strawberries that were cut smaller. I used a wooden spoon handle to poke larger holes in the cake & slowly spooned the puree over as soon as the cake came out of the oven. Some of the berries went in the holes & some stayed on top of the cake. Chilled the cake in the fridge for about 45 mins. Instead of folding the pudding & the whipped cream together, I put them on as separate layers. I used a cheesecake pudding & prepared it with 1 1/2 cups of milk. I prepared it in a bowl that has a pouring edge so that I could just pour it straight from the bowl over the top of the cake. Chilled again for 10 mins. Then, instead of cool whip, I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream with 1/3 cup of sugar until stiff. Spread over the pudding layer. Chilled in the fridge for about 3 hrs before we cut it & it was totally set up & fabulous. This is a terrific cake! I made this one as a 'test run' to see if I'd want to take one over to my son's school this week for their Teacher Appreciation luncheon & this is definitely the cake that I am making. FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
People were turned off from trying this because of the way the topping looked. It looked like melted icecream, but tasted so good! Maybe next time I will just use cool whip. Also, I will sprinkle sugar on the frozen strawberries while they are thawing. And I was thinking of experimenting with a lemon cake mix!!! Sounds yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very refreshing dessert. I baked the cake & cooled it down. Added blended strawberries and then put the cake in the freezer. I then took it out and added the frosting. Kept it in the freezer until we left for the party. Everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Light, fresh and delicious. I tried this with a white cake rather than strawberry mix. I was concerned stawberry flavored cake would taste too chemical-like. Cheesecake pudding is excellent! It made a beautiful layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
So easy, so pretty, so..so...so...good! We thought it was the cats meow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This cake is wicked awsome! I made it twice in one week, first for a work party, and it was almost gone before lunch time. Second was for relatives B-day party, and again, it disapeared before anything else. The only thing that I changed was that I used Cheesecake pudding instead of vanilla, but would probably be just as yummy. Will make again & again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I have made this frosting before but I only use 2/3 cup of milk. This leaves the frosting with a little bit more of a thick texture. I really liked this cake. The only thing I woulc change next time is poking more holes in the cake. I tried to keep the holes to a minimum because I thought the strawberries would make the cake soggy. Luckily I was wrong but my lack of holes left more strawberries on the sides of the cake rather than on top and in the holes. Overall though this cake was awesome! Light and Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this with yellow cake mix as someone had mentioned previously. The flavors of the cake, strawberries, and icing all meld together to create something greater than the sum of the parts. It's very good. Just don't make the mistake of trying to stack it up for a layer cake, what a mess! It's hard to keep the icing from sliding off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States