Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
People were turned off from trying this because of the way the topping looked. It looked like melted icecream, but tasted so good! Maybe next time I will just use cool whip. Also, I will sprinkle sugar on the frozen strawberries while they are thawing. And I was thinking of experimenting with a lemon cake mix!!! Sounds yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very refreshing dessert. I baked the cake & cooled it down. Added blended strawberries and then put the cake in the freezer. I then took it out and added the frosting. Kept it in the freezer until we left for the party. Everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Light, fresh and delicious. I tried this with a white cake rather than strawberry mix. I was concerned stawberry flavored cake would taste too chemical-like. Cheesecake pudding is excellent! It made a beautiful layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
So easy, so pretty, so..so...so...good! We thought it was the cats meow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This cake is wicked awsome! I made it twice in one week, first for a work party, and it was almost gone before lunch time. Second was for relatives B-day party, and again, it disapeared before anything else. The only thing that I changed was that I used Cheesecake pudding instead of vanilla, but would probably be just as yummy. Will make again & again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I have made this frosting before but I only use 2/3 cup of milk. This leaves the frosting with a little bit more of a thick texture. I really liked this cake. The only thing I woulc change next time is poking more holes in the cake. I tried to keep the holes to a minimum because I thought the strawberries would make the cake soggy. Luckily I was wrong but my lack of holes left more strawberries on the sides of the cake rather than on top and in the holes. Overall though this cake was awesome! Light and Refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I made this with yellow cake mix as someone had mentioned previously. The flavors of the cake, strawberries, and icing all meld together to create something greater than the sum of the parts. It's very good. Just don't make the mistake of trying to stack it up for a layer cake, what a mess! It's hard to keep the icing from sliding off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I did this same thing with a yellow cake mix and it was quite good. Made it for my son's birthday party last week and everyone who tried it loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
Delicious! I added 1/2 tbsp cornstarch like everyone else and make cupcakes to take to work. They were so good and I got lots of compliments. Making cupcakes don't take as much puree and frosting, so I would probably half those the next time I make them. Trust me... ther WILL be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States