Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Awesome! This was the first time i've made a "poke" cake. i poked it with toothpicks and the strawberry puree ran all over the top so next time i'll use the bottom of my wooden spoon so it will seep in. It's great for a hot day- i keep going in the fridge to sneak a bite. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN DOWNES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We used fresh strawberries and instant cheesecake flavor pudding mix instead of frozen strawberries and vanilla pudding mix. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I am fifteen years old and made this cake at about 10 o'clock at night before Memorial Day.. My 70 year old Grandpa loved it and said it was the best cake he EVER had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
YUMMY! Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: May 19, 2007
my hubby and I loved this one. We like the really simple flavor, moistness and the cold cake and topping in your mouth. Great for a meal at the lake or a family get together in the summer/spring!!! I want to try this with Cheesecake pudding for the topping. Oh- add a few crushed strawberries into the cake batter before baking. Keeps the cake moist, also i omitted the oil in the cake and used applesauce(same amount) and it turned out GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I used one 16 oz bag of frozen strawberries and cooked them for a few minutes on the stove with 1/4 cup of sugar and a tsp of vanilla. It really helps because they aren't always sweet. To this, I added a handful of sliced fresh strawberries & pureed it. To the puree, I added a couple big handfuls more of sliced fresh strawberries that were cut smaller. I used a wooden spoon handle to poke larger holes in the cake & slowly spooned the puree over as soon as the cake came out of the oven. Some of the berries went in the holes & some stayed on top of the cake. Chilled the cake in the fridge for about 45 mins. Instead of folding the pudding & the whipped cream together, I put them on as separate layers. I used a cheesecake pudding & prepared it with 1 1/2 cups of milk. I prepared it in a bowl that has a pouring edge so that I could just pour it straight from the bowl over the top of the cake. Chilled again for 10 mins. Then, instead of cool whip, I used 1 cup of heavy whipping cream with 1/3 cup of sugar until stiff. Spread over the pudding layer. Chilled in the fridge for about 3 hrs before we cut it & it was totally set up & fabulous. This is a terrific cake! I made this one as a 'test run' to see if I'd want to take one over to my son's school this week for their Teacher Appreciation luncheon & this is definitely the cake that I am making. FIVE STARS ALL THE WAY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
People were turned off from trying this because of the way the topping looked. It looked like melted icecream, but tasted so good! Maybe next time I will just use cool whip. Also, I will sprinkle sugar on the frozen strawberries while they are thawing. And I was thinking of experimenting with a lemon cake mix!!! Sounds yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Very refreshing dessert. I baked the cake & cooled it down. Added blended strawberries and then put the cake in the freezer. I then took it out and added the frosting. Kept it in the freezer until we left for the party. Everyone thought it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pink, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Turned out great! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
Light, fresh and delicious. I tried this with a white cake rather than strawberry mix. I was concerned stawberry flavored cake would taste too chemical-like. Cheesecake pudding is excellent! It made a beautiful layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States