Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This is the cake that everyone request for parties..its my signature cake and kids and adults love it alike...I bake the cake in a 9x13 glass pan but it is pretty much the same otherwise...I got the recipe from the side of the cake box and have been making it for years...its a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
I thought it was okay. I couldn't get the puree to soak into the cake so it just sat on top and made the cake really mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The key is chilling cake after each layer of ingredients you add. Instead of using a wooden spoon to poke holes in cake (which didn't seem to work for most people who left reviews), I pierced the cake using solid-ended thongs. After the thongs pierced the cake, I gently opened prongs up, creating a perfect space to spoon in pureed strawberries! Be careful with thongs near the edges so as to not cause the cake to crack open. It worked perfectly! I added thawed strawberries to white cake mix. Immediately after making pudding (before it had time to set and using 1 1/2 c milk instead of 2), I was able to "pour" it over cake, which was VERY important. I used cool whip and fresh strawberries for topping, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
great with either a starwberry cake mix or white. i prefer white. make sure you poke large holes in cake, it doesn't matter that it will look like you are tearing your cake up, becuse once you put strawberries on top and slice it all you will see is the beautiful strawberry goodness in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
A very delicious, super-moist cake! I also took the recommendations of some of the other reviewers, substituted a golden cake mix, used applesauce instead of oil (1:1), and tried the white chocolate pudding mix. I also topped it with some white chocolate curls to decorate. It was a hit, and received many compliments and requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was very good and easy. I went with what I had on hand... Rainbow chip cake mix instead of strawberry. I didn't have enough frozen strawberries, so I used frozen strawberries, frozen peaches, and a tiny bit of fresh pineapple I had left over. I found it hard to soak into the cake as well, and only used 1/2 of the puree (fine, I saved the other 1/2 for smoothies later). And I found it difficult to "frost" with the pudding whipped topping mixture, so I sort of drizzeled it over the cake and it came out very pretty after topping with the fresh strawberries! It was cool and light and very yummy! I will make this again and it's easy to fit into what you've got around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Very good recipe. Didn't have the frozen strawberries so I used fresh strawberries added sugar and pureed them for the cake. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times have been very frustrated trying to frost the cake. There seemed to be too much strawberry puree, so it swirled in with the frosting and got pretty ugly looking. I may try this with a white cake and raspberries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is AMAZING! I used white cake instead of strawberry which was delicious. I could not get the strawberry puree to soak into the cake, I had to make huge holes with the knife but it did end up working. I put fresh strawberry slices inbetween the 2 layers of cake as well as a thick layer of the whip cream and cool whip. I also used the puree to pour over the top of the cake when I served it and added a fresh pile of strawberries! A GREAT summer dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very moist. Everyone that had it said it was good. I thought it was just okay. I guess I was expecting a fresh strawberry flavor but all I could taste was the fake strawberry cake mix. I don't think I would make it again unless someone asked for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States