Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Yummy! Next time I will try one of the suggested variations. I'm not usually a fan of boxed mixes or cool whip but the fresh fruit makes it fabulous. I used fresh strawberries with added sugar, pureed using my immersion blender, when I poked the cake with the end of a wooden spoon the holes were big enough to let the fruit soak in. Used the cheesecake pudding made with 1 1/2 cups skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therese

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
very good, the strawberry puree did not come out as thin as I thought so it did not seep down into the wholes but it was still very good, I also used yellow cake to make it taste more like a shortcake. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anjee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fallon, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
have made this twice for employees and it went over well. Very good summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very simple. Simple enough to make with my two young kids. I had to make a few small subtitutions due to what I had on hand but the recipe bends well for that sort of thing. I had to use frozen mixed berries because that was all I had. No pudding mix and I'm low on milk right now so I just frosted it with the whipped topping and lined the berries on top, almost like you would with a Flag Cake. My one issue was that the berry puree was quite thick, even with all the holes I poked in my cake. It didn't want to soak into the cake. I ended up just shrugging my shoulders and frosting it anyhow. It was okay--but the layer where the berries sat was terribly soggy and kind of........unappealing. I think this would be a keeper if you made the cake, substituting the berry puree for the water and one of the eggs or oil called for in the actual cake recipe and baking it that way, with the whipped topping/pudding frosting on top and then strawberries. It would keep better, you'd still get the flavor of the strawberry puree and you wouldn't have any issues with soggy cake. That's just my two cents. That's how I'll make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Greak cake! My 5 year old asked for a strawberry cake for his birthday and this was a major success. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This cake is delicious! Like Tres Leches, you can't punch too many holes in the cake, the thick strawberry puree doesn't want to soak in. My regret was leaving it in the metal baking pan, the strawberries are too acidic to leave in a metal pan. I may put the strawberries between layers next time...I used the cream cheese pudding and white cake mix as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Definately one of my favorite cake recipes ever, and so easy to make! I love strawberry shortcake, and when I saw this recipe, I had to make it. I made this for Easter and the whole cake was devoured. Perfect from a Spring time, or really anytime. It is very light and sweet, and moist. I did not make holes, but I made lines along the cake with a pizza cutter. The only thing I would try different next time is maybe using a bigger pan. I used a 9x13, i did not use all of the topping because it was overflowing the plan. Definately must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This cake is soo good! Probably one of my all time favorites. It was in our church cookbook, but I had no idea it was on allrecipes. I am so glad I found it on here EXACTLY like the one in my cookbook, now I can refer people who ask about it here. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I did not use strawberry flavored cake mix, I used funfetti instead. I added in the whole 8 oz. container of cool whip and did not add the strawberries on top (too expensive). It was great! Light, refreshing and just good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States