Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Good, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fausterlady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
have made this twice for employees and it went over well. Very good summer treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jvizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Very simple. Simple enough to make with my two young kids. I had to make a few small subtitutions due to what I had on hand but the recipe bends well for that sort of thing. I had to use frozen mixed berries because that was all I had. No pudding mix and I'm low on milk right now so I just frosted it with the whipped topping and lined the berries on top, almost like you would with a Flag Cake. My one issue was that the berry puree was quite thick, even with all the holes I poked in my cake. It didn't want to soak into the cake. I ended up just shrugging my shoulders and frosting it anyhow. It was okay--but the layer where the berries sat was terribly soggy and kind of........unappealing. I think this would be a keeper if you made the cake, substituting the berry puree for the water and one of the eggs or oil called for in the actual cake recipe and baking it that way, with the whipped topping/pudding frosting on top and then strawberries. It would keep better, you'd still get the flavor of the strawberry puree and you wouldn't have any issues with soggy cake. That's just my two cents. That's how I'll make it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Greak cake! My 5 year old asked for a strawberry cake for his birthday and this was a major success. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This cake is delicious! Like Tres Leches, you can't punch too many holes in the cake, the thick strawberry puree doesn't want to soak in. My regret was leaving it in the metal baking pan, the strawberries are too acidic to leave in a metal pan. I may put the strawberries between layers next time...I used the cream cheese pudding and white cake mix as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Definately one of my favorite cake recipes ever, and so easy to make! I love strawberry shortcake, and when I saw this recipe, I had to make it. I made this for Easter and the whole cake was devoured. Perfect from a Spring time, or really anytime. It is very light and sweet, and moist. I did not make holes, but I made lines along the cake with a pizza cutter. The only thing I would try different next time is maybe using a bigger pan. I used a 9x13, i did not use all of the topping because it was overflowing the plan. Definately must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This cake is soo good! Probably one of my all time favorites. It was in our church cookbook, but I had no idea it was on allrecipes. I am so glad I found it on here EXACTLY like the one in my cookbook, now I can refer people who ask about it here. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I did not use strawberry flavored cake mix, I used funfetti instead. I added in the whole 8 oz. container of cool whip and did not add the strawberries on top (too expensive). It was great! Light, refreshing and just good tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
i searched hi and lo for a "healthy" strawberry cake recipe that only required what i had in the kitchen. i made this for my NEW boss' birthday, so I was very nervous...this cake was amazing!!! & even better after it sat in the fridge for a day/two! thank you for this wonderful & EASY recipe! I will make this again & again! PERFECT for summer! Light & fresh :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manditrtl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I've been making a version of this cake for years. I definitely use white cake, After baking while still warm I poke holes in it with the handle of a wooden spoon. the more the better. This is how to add puree or on the alternative Either strawberry, Rasberry or Cherry Jello with 1/2 the water specified on the box. I drizzle this into the holes and then refrigerate. And prepare the Vanilla Pudding. I prefer real whipped cream instead of the fake topping. While I love the strawberry version of this cake. I also use fruit cocktail instead, which is the way I've made it for years. Its always a hit. I usually make in a 9x13 pan, but I've also tried a two layer cake using spring form pans. Layers can be hard to remove due to the jello or puree. With the layer cake, fruit & Pudding Whip Cream Mixture between layers, on top, and fully iced with the whipped mixture. When it works It is the talk of the party. The Ingredients in either the Strawberry or the Fruit Cocktail cake make an excellent triffle as well. I get requests for this reciple in one form or another every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States