Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I loved this recipe... I used the Betty Crocker Super Moist Strawberry Cake Mix and it came out just as the box said super moist and delicous too.. I made it a slightly different way. I let the cake cool off for an hour, and then poked holes 1 inch apart also with the back of a wooden spatula and poured and spread the strawberry puree over the cake. I then refrigerated over night and in the morning added the whipped topping. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the instant pudding to make it all the more yummy. Although, I did find some trouble with the whipped topping because it was not firm enough, therefore I refrigerated the cake for about 9 hours and still the whipped topping was not firm, I added the strawberries to the icing and put it in the freezer for another hour so that the icing would be firm enough and the strawberries wouldn't slide off the whipped topping. Needless to say it worked. the cake was so rich and moist.. all of my guest loved it and some have already put in their requests for next years birthday celebrations! I think next time I will try using home-made chocolate covered strawberries for the topping over the icing instead of plain strawberries to give it a more fancy look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Easy to make, takes a little time but well worth it! I poke holes while cake it hot, but let cool before pouring strawberry puree over it. Let it sit in the fridge atleast an hour before spreading topping. If cake is kept in fridge overnight, it's very easy and not messy to serve. I have also used the cheesecake flavor pudding instead and it was GREAT! I'm always asked to make this for group functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Really delicious...but needed to keep it in the refrigerator longer than the recipe calls for. The topping was not thick enough, so we used it as a sauce instead. Everyone loved it-there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My family loves this recipe. I am going to make it today and use banana pudding instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Broussard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This is great! The directions here seemed unclear, as others have mentioned. I made this in a 9x13 pan and poked holes 1 in. apart with the handle of a wooden spoon after cooling. This lets the strawberry puree get into the cake, although some did remain on top. The cake is a little messy to serve, but tastes great. I let my 9-yr. old son help me make it, and it was a hit at an informal party. I've been asked to make it again for a niece's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Maybe the strawberry puree needs to be added while the cake is hot. I poked a ton of holes in it but my puree did not sink. The topping tastes great. I ended up throwing most of it away. Will make agian to see if I can make it right. It would be pretty good if the puree soaked into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this recipe for Easter and formed a cross on top with the fresh strawberries. It looked beautiful, but I wasn't that impressed with the taste. It was good, but not what I expected it to taste like. I've tasted better strawberry cakes. I was surprised at how runny the pudding and whipped topping was. Some of the pureed strawberries showed through. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I've made a recipe very similar for a few years now and everytime there is any sort of family of church function I am automatically asked to bring this. I just make a few adaptations that make the cake super moist and also make it lower in fat. I follow the directions on the box, but I omit the oil, add 1 small package of vanilla pudding to the mix and a 1/2 package of frozen strawberries and the syrup to the mix. I then bake as instructed on the back of the box. I top with sour cream icing with low fat whipped topping and cover with the rest of the frozen strawberries and drizzle with left over syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This cake has been a big summer hit! Made it for 2 cookouts and guests loved it! I did, however,use a white cake mix instead of strawberry mix to give it a fresher appearance. Make this cake and become the hit of the neighborhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I used yellow cake mix instead of strawberry cake mix because I thought it would be too much strawberry. I was wrong. It was missing something. I think if I'd gone with the recipe, it would have been much better. Got rave reviews at the house, though. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States