Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My family loves this recipe. I am going to make it today and use banana pudding instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Broussard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
This is great! The directions here seemed unclear, as others have mentioned. I made this in a 9x13 pan and poked holes 1 in. apart with the handle of a wooden spoon after cooling. This lets the strawberry puree get into the cake, although some did remain on top. The cake is a little messy to serve, but tastes great. I let my 9-yr. old son help me make it, and it was a hit at an informal party. I've been asked to make it again for a niece's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
Maybe the strawberry puree needs to be added while the cake is hot. I poked a ton of holes in it but my puree did not sink. The topping tastes great. I ended up throwing most of it away. Will make agian to see if I can make it right. It would be pretty good if the puree soaked into the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
I made this recipe for Easter and formed a cross on top with the fresh strawberries. It looked beautiful, but I wasn't that impressed with the taste. It was good, but not what I expected it to taste like. I've tasted better strawberry cakes. I was surprised at how runny the pudding and whipped topping was. Some of the pureed strawberries showed through. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
I've made a recipe very similar for a few years now and everytime there is any sort of family of church function I am automatically asked to bring this. I just make a few adaptations that make the cake super moist and also make it lower in fat. I follow the directions on the box, but I omit the oil, add 1 small package of vanilla pudding to the mix and a 1/2 package of frozen strawberries and the syrup to the mix. I then bake as instructed on the back of the box. I top with sour cream icing with low fat whipped topping and cover with the rest of the frozen strawberries and drizzle with left over syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This cake has been a big summer hit! Made it for 2 cookouts and guests loved it! I did, however,use a white cake mix instead of strawberry mix to give it a fresher appearance. Make this cake and become the hit of the neighborhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I used yellow cake mix instead of strawberry cake mix because I thought it would be too much strawberry. I was wrong. It was missing something. I think if I'd gone with the recipe, it would have been much better. Got rave reviews at the house, though. Everyone really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I made this cake along w/ Better Than Sex Cake II for my daughter's 2nd birthday party. Everyone complemented on how good it was. The fact that it doesn't cost a lot to make and that it was an easy recipe made me want to try it. I will more than likely make it again if I have the opportunity. Very easy and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2002
Everyone loved it!! I subsituted French Vanilla cake mix instead of strawberry cake mix. My grandmother used chocolate cake for a modified Black Forest Cake. It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2002
EXCELLENT RECIPE! I substituted cheesecake flavored instant pudding ~ Heavenly. The cake was gone by day two in my house of six. Everyone begged me to make another one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States