Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
I make this all the time and everyone loves it. SUPER moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
This is one of my favorite recipes! It's a big hit with my family and my co-workers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I have made this cake for almost every social function I have had to bake for. It is extremely simple and everyone raves over it. It has now become my most requested cake. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
Great recipe! A couple hints: Add about 1/2 tbs. cornstarch to the milk before you add it to the pudding. Will make the frosting thicker. Also, when icing the cake, apply a thin coate of icing first -- that will cover some of the red puree. Then use a different utensil to spread large dollops of it over the thin coat. Voila, smooth icing with no red streaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
Very nice change from the usual desserts I've made. I was complimented alot for it. Even though I thought I messed it up cause I used cook & serve pudding instead of instant. It was a little hard to spread the topping over the strawberry puree. Make sure U decorate it nicer than I did. Anyway, its worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
If you have trouble getting the strawberry puree to sink into the cake, make sure you make large and deep holes (try a wooden spoon's handle) about 1" apart. **To make this cake travel-safe, try cutting the cake into 1" cubes then layering it in a sealable bowl. Half of the cubed cake, half of the pureed strawberries, half of the pudding mix and repeat. Garnish with a few fresh strawberries and refrigerate! This is my family's favorite way to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leahnwells

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
I loved this recipe... I used the Betty Crocker Super Moist Strawberry Cake Mix and it came out just as the box said super moist and delicous too.. I made it a slightly different way. I let the cake cool off for an hour, and then poked holes 1 inch apart also with the back of a wooden spatula and poured and spread the strawberry puree over the cake. I then refrigerated over night and in the morning added the whipped topping. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract to the instant pudding to make it all the more yummy. Although, I did find some trouble with the whipped topping because it was not firm enough, therefore I refrigerated the cake for about 9 hours and still the whipped topping was not firm, I added the strawberries to the icing and put it in the freezer for another hour so that the icing would be firm enough and the strawberries wouldn't slide off the whipped topping. Needless to say it worked. the cake was so rich and moist.. all of my guest loved it and some have already put in their requests for next years birthday celebrations! I think next time I will try using home-made chocolate covered strawberries for the topping over the icing instead of plain strawberries to give it a more fancy look!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
Easy to make, takes a little time but well worth it! I poke holes while cake it hot, but let cool before pouring strawberry puree over it. Let it sit in the fridge atleast an hour before spreading topping. If cake is kept in fridge overnight, it's very easy and not messy to serve. I have also used the cheesecake flavor pudding instead and it was GREAT! I'm always asked to make this for group functions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Really delicious...but needed to keep it in the refrigerator longer than the recipe calls for. The topping was not thick enough, so we used it as a sauce instead. Everyone loved it-there were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2004
My family loves this recipe. I am going to make it today and use banana pudding instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States