Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
The flavor was very good but it was such a messy cake to serve that I am not sure I will make it again. It is not a pretty cake. If I do make it again, I will make it as a trifle which I think would be very good and much more presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have made this cake MANY times. Love it. Here are some changes/recommendations I made: 1)I use frozen strawberries for the filling part, and use fresh strawberries to decorate the cake (it smells fresh!). 2) Use apple sauce instead of oil for the cake. 3)I have baked the cake in 2 pans and in one pan. For the 2 layered cake, I put some vanilla/Cool Whip frosting in between too. For the 1 big layer cake, it makes it easier to poke holes through it. Be sure to give a thick thick 'frosting.' 4) I use the handle of a wooden ladle, poke through the cake, and give it a little jiggle to widen the hole and to let the 'filling' drip down through the cake. 5) To make the filling, I put frozen strawberries + juice, and some strawberry preserve, and pulse the small processor a few times. :) EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ch1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We really enjoyed this cake! I made sure to use unsweetened frozen strawberries so it wouldn't be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I've been searching for this forever! My friend's mother made this for us, and I fell in love with it. So refreshing on a warm day. Try putting fresh peach slices on top to add a tartness or a blueberry/strawberry mix for a 4th of July/Memorial Day gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Excellent. Every bit as good as strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This is a great recipe. I actually got it originally from the Duncan Hines Supreme Strawberry Cake Mix box, but I just wanted to add a variation. Use the strawberry flavored Cool Whip. It's usually available during the summer months. Also, to keep the frosting from being runny, do not mix it - simply fold the cool whip in, and it works brilliantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Awesome! This was the first time i've made a "poke" cake. i poked it with toothpicks and the strawberry puree ran all over the top so next time i'll use the bottom of my wooden spoon so it will seep in. It's great for a hot day- i keep going in the fridge to sneak a bite. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We used fresh strawberries and instant cheesecake flavor pudding mix instead of frozen strawberries and vanilla pudding mix. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I am fifteen years old and made this cake at about 10 o'clock at night before Memorial Day.. My 70 year old Grandpa loved it and said it was the best cake he EVER had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
YUMMY! Wouldn't change a thing! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States