Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I have made this cake several times for work this is the best cold cake I have ever had. i also did this with choclate cake and strawberry and used chocolate cook whipp and sugare free choc pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Jo, Texas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This was okay . . . it wasn't delicious or soooooo good. Probably would try another recipe for strawberry cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I make this every summer and everyone loves it. The topping is very light and really goes well with the cake. Perfect dessert for a BBQ or party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
I used a banana cake mix (because that's what I had at home) and banana pudding for the icing. It turned out very yummy. I also used fresh strawberries and added just a tiny bit of water to puree them. A great spring/summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lillington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
could use a little more strawberry puree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
The flavor was very good but it was such a messy cake to serve that I am not sure I will make it again. It is not a pretty cake. If I do make it again, I will make it as a trifle which I think would be very good and much more presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I have made this cake MANY times. Love it. Here are some changes/recommendations I made: 1)I use frozen strawberries for the filling part, and use fresh strawberries to decorate the cake (it smells fresh!). 2) Use apple sauce instead of oil for the cake. 3)I have baked the cake in 2 pans and in one pan. For the 2 layered cake, I put some vanilla/Cool Whip frosting in between too. For the 1 big layer cake, it makes it easier to poke holes through it. Be sure to give a thick thick 'frosting.' 4) I use the handle of a wooden ladle, poke through the cake, and give it a little jiggle to widen the hole and to let the 'filling' drip down through the cake. 5) To make the filling, I put frozen strawberries + juice, and some strawberry preserve, and pulse the small processor a few times. :) EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ch1215

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruston, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
We really enjoyed this cake! I made sure to use unsweetened frozen strawberries so it wouldn't be too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
I've been searching for this forever! My friend's mother made this for us, and I fell in love with it. So refreshing on a warm day. Try putting fresh peach slices on top to add a tartness or a blueberry/strawberry mix for a 4th of July/Memorial Day gathering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Excellent. Every bit as good as strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States