Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
I've made this twice now and both times have been very frustrated trying to frost the cake. There seemed to be too much strawberry puree, so it swirled in with the frosting and got pretty ugly looking. I may try this with a white cake and raspberries next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This is AMAZING! I used white cake instead of strawberry which was delicious. I could not get the strawberry puree to soak into the cake, I had to make huge holes with the knife but it did end up working. I put fresh strawberry slices inbetween the 2 layers of cake as well as a thick layer of the whip cream and cool whip. I also used the puree to pour over the top of the cake when I served it and added a fresh pile of strawberries! A GREAT summer dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Very moist. Everyone that had it said it was good. I thought it was just okay. I guess I was expecting a fresh strawberry flavor but all I could taste was the fake strawberry cake mix. I don't think I would make it again unless someone asked for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
A huge hit with my whole family, ages 4 - 70. I will make this again and again! I incorporated many of the suggestions from others: used white cake mix instead of strawberry, adding 3 pureed strawberries to the mix (and a little less oil), which gave it a nice slightly grainy/wholesome texture; used cheesecake pudding; added 1/2 T cornstarch to topping to thicken; added 1 tsp sugar to strawberry puree. After spooning pureed strawberries on the cake, I put the cake in the freezer for 30 minutes before topping, making it easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
Very good. I didn't change anything about it. Would be great with the cheesecake and white chocolate puddings that were suggested by other reviewer's. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I made this cake for me and my husband, and we ourselves ate it in a couple of days. It is very refreshing.A cousin of mine brought something like this to our family reunion. I noticed this cake disappeared real fast, so I looked for a recipe like hers. I will make it again, but will wait to take it to a family function or something. I did use the white cake mix instead of strawberry Good recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA
Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This is my second time making this cake. I make a few changes. I use a white cake mix instead of strawberry...just not a fan of boxed strawberry mixed. I puree only half the strawberries and leave the other half alone. That way the pureed strawberries sink into the poked holes and the remaining strawberries stay on top of the cake, underneath the cool whip. It's a delicious, refreshing cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
This cake is the best for summer barbecues. So refreshing and light! I've made it with vanilla, cheesecake, and white chocolate pudding mix and all are very good. Will try it with just plain cool whip next time. Easier and I think would be just as good. I recommend using frozen sweetened strawberries or adding sugar to regular frozen strawberries. I also always use white cake mix rather than the strawberry. Very good and requested often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
This cake was easy to make and turned out so good. Instead of vanilla pudding I used cheesecake pudding. Also, instead of the required 1/3 cup vegetable oil mentioned in the cake box I used 1 container of strawberry applesauce. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Love this...didn't have all the stuff for the topping and just used plain Cool Whip, which was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States