Strawberry Refrigerator Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
i searched hi and lo for a "healthy" strawberry cake recipe that only required what i had in the kitchen. i made this for my NEW boss' birthday, so I was very nervous...this cake was amazing!!! & even better after it sat in the fridge for a day/two! thank you for this wonderful & EASY recipe! I will make this again & again! PERFECT for summer! Light & fresh :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manditrtl10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedaredge, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I've been making a version of this cake for years. I definitely use white cake, After baking while still warm I poke holes in it with the handle of a wooden spoon. the more the better. This is how to add puree or on the alternative Either strawberry, Rasberry or Cherry Jello with 1/2 the water specified on the box. I drizzle this into the holes and then refrigerate. And prepare the Vanilla Pudding. I prefer real whipped cream instead of the fake topping. While I love the strawberry version of this cake. I also use fruit cocktail instead, which is the way I've made it for years. Its always a hit. I usually make in a 9x13 pan, but I've also tried a two layer cake using spring form pans. Layers can be hard to remove due to the jello or puree. With the layer cake, fruit & Pudding Whip Cream Mixture between layers, on top, and fully iced with the whipped mixture. When it works It is the talk of the party. The Ingredients in either the Strawberry or the Fruit Cocktail cake make an excellent triffle as well. I get requests for this reciple in one form or another every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dena G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Made recipe exactly as stated. The whole family loved it, defiantly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdot
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Delicious, looks beautiful... I am not a fan of cake mixes, so I made a basic white cake and then followed the recipe as written except I had to add extra cool whip to make it more spreadable. I've made it twice and it always goes really fast! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
I made this for a ladies club meeting and they loved it! It was light, moist and cool on a hot Texas day! I used cheesecake pudding instead of the vanilla. I also love that a piece is a reasonable amount of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Didn't think this would turn out well... I didn't put as much of the puree in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I changed the cake mix to a butter recipe mix instead of a strawberry mix and I doubled the topping....this was delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv 2 Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
This was a great dessert for our summer barbecue. It was refreshing and light. I was really surprised how the strawberries soaked right into the cake. As the recipe stated, I let the cake cool first, then spooned the pureed strawberries over the top. Even two days later, the cake was not soggy at all. Like a few other reviewers, I used white cake mix. I just don't really like the "fake" taste of strawberry cake mix, and thought the white cake was a nice contrast to the strawberries and creamy topping. I didn't feel like the topping needed cornstarch or anything else to thicken it - mine had a nice, easy to spread texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Yummy & refreshing dessert for the summertime. I also used a white-cake, instead of strawberry. I poked my holes in the cake, still hot right out of the oven, and it looked like a big mess, but turned out better than I expected when served. I would probably wait til the cake cooled a bit before making the holes again. I also used (1) 16oz container of frozen strawberries in juice with about 2-cups of fresh strawberries (I had cut up & sprinkled with sugar & let sit overnight in the fridge)... poured them in the blender with the container of strawberries & juice I thawed out & blended, but still leaving chunks of strawberries. There was a good bit of strawberry pieces on top of the cake after I poured it on top, but I spread them out & refrigerated the cake overnight, and then "frosted" the cake the next day, and there was no mess with spreading the topping. I also used the Cheesecake flavor pudding mix and used an entire 8oz container of whipped topping instead of 2-cups, and it turned out fine. Everyone really enjoyed the cake, it was a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Not as great as it sounded..we were dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States