Strawberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Loved this recipe!!!! Although I did make some changes... Used fresh strawberries instead of frozen and because I didn't think I would have enough strawberries, I also added some blueberries to the cake. This is a very easy recipe and has a lot of flavor...although I liked the parts with the strawberries better than the blueberries. Thanks Sue for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
this has been my favorite go-to recipe since i found it 2 years ago. simple and tasty. you can substitute any fruit for strawberry. very easy to modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
kids loved it! wonderful, moist cake! ( I added a 1/4 box of vanilla pudding in the mix) works wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuntricookmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great recipe.. but only used half the suggested sugar for the sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Two words: Cake flour. It takes a great pound cake recipe, such as this one, and lifts it into the realm of amazing! Substitute cake flour -- for every cup of flour, add one cup plus two tablespoons of cake flour. I too used butter instead of butter flavored shortening. I followed the rest pretty spot on. I did add a bit more strawberry extract. Also, to help in getting the cake out of the bundt pan, I buttered then sugared the pan. Slides right out. My husband doesn't like sauces or glazes, so we just ate as is and enjoyed it as a fast breakfast for the week. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
As pleasing to the eye as it is to the tastebuds!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Four stars, five with some adjustments. First, the amount of leavener seemed way too much so, using similar recipes as a guide, I used just ¼ tsp. of baking soda and eliminated the baking powder altogether. It worked out perfectly, so I’m glad I didn’t attempt this with the large amounts of baking soda and baking powder called for. I used fresh, chopped strawberries rather than frozen which for me anyway, made this so much easier – didn’t have to worry about draining, reserving juice, etc. I substituted butter for the shortening, as I didn’t want to sacrifice flavor. I felt confident doing that, thinking the buttermilk would replace any moisture lost by doing so, which it did. I wanted strawberry extract, but ¼ tsp. wasn’t going to do it for me - I used 1-1/2 tsp. of pure strawberry extract, which is incredibly superior to the imitation stuff. (I buy my natural strawberry extract online) I omitted the pecans – just personal preference for this type of cake. Finally, I didn’t make the sauce, as this is going to the office with Hubs tomorrow and sauce wasn’t practical for serving. I just drizzled it with a glaze of powdered sugar, a dab of butter, a dribble of corn syrup, a good capful of strawberry extract, a couple of drops of red food coloring and a little milk. What a cake! Moist and tender crumb, prettily flecked with chopped strawberries and, because of the pure strawberry extract, fresh tasting with full strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I WAS HOPING FOR MORE FLAVOR IN THE CAKE. BUT THE CAKE DID TURN OUT WELL AND I HAD NO PROBLEMS MAKING THIS. THE GLAZE SMELLED WONDERFUL WHILE IT WAS COOKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Gresham
Home Town: Union Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I used a pack of fresh strawberries which I sliced and chopped then set aside. The only adjustments I made to this recipe was to use all butter instead of shortening because it is what I had on hand and I also prefer butter. I also added 1 1/4 teaspoon of all Strawberry extract instead of vanilla. The batter came together nicely. I baked the cake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. It rose up nicely baking a nice brown color. I could smell an aroma of strawberries baking up. I let the cake cool for an hour before taking it out the bundt pan. I could see the flecks of strawberries all over the cake and also when sliced-making this very pretty to look at (See my picture in the photo gallery). I noticed after the first bite that the crumb is nice and tender. The cake itself is moist, sweetly flavored with chopped/sliced Strawberries throughout each bite and because of the pure Strawberry extract, giving this a more pronounced Strawberry flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I've made this cake w/ strawberries twice and tried it w/ pineapples today. Each time everybody loved it! My prep time takes longer as I've had some health issues that have left me physically challenged but overall It's a winner in my book. This time I sifted the flour, excellent option. My favorite fruit is mango...maybe that's next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuJoie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States