Strawberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
Two words: Cake flour. It takes a great pound cake recipe, such as this one, and lifts it into the realm of amazing! Substitute cake flour -- for every cup of flour, add one cup plus two tablespoons of cake flour. I too used butter instead of butter flavored shortening. I followed the rest pretty spot on. I did add a bit more strawberry extract. Also, to help in getting the cake out of the bundt pan, I buttered then sugared the pan. Slides right out. My husband doesn't like sauces or glazes, so we just ate as is and enjoyed it as a fast breakfast for the week. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Loved this recipe!!!! Although I did make some changes... Used fresh strawberries instead of frozen and because I didn't think I would have enough strawberries, I also added some blueberries to the cake. This is a very easy recipe and has a lot of flavor...although I liked the parts with the strawberries better than the blueberries. Thanks Sue for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
this has been my favorite go-to recipe since i found it 2 years ago. simple and tasty. you can substitute any fruit for strawberry. very easy to modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
kids loved it! wonderful, moist cake! ( I added a 1/4 box of vanilla pudding in the mix) works wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuntricookmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Great recipe.. but only used half the suggested sugar for the sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
As pleasing to the eye as it is to the tastebuds!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grave Flower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunlap, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Four stars, five with some adjustments. First, the amount of leavener seemed way too much so, using similar recipes as a guide, I used just ¼ tsp. of baking soda and eliminated the baking powder altogether. It worked out perfectly, so I’m glad I didn’t attempt this with the large amounts of baking soda and baking powder called for. I used fresh, chopped strawberries rather than frozen which for me anyway, made this so much easier – didn’t have to worry about draining, reserving juice, etc. I substituted butter for the shortening, as I didn’t want to sacrifice flavor. I felt confident doing that, thinking the buttermilk would replace any moisture lost by doing so, which it did. I wanted strawberry extract, but ¼ tsp. wasn’t going to do it for me - I used 1-1/2 tsp. of pure strawberry extract, which is incredibly superior to the imitation stuff. (I buy my natural strawberry extract online) I omitted the pecans – just personal preference for this type of cake. Finally, I didn’t make the sauce, as this is going to the office with Hubs tomorrow and sauce wasn’t practical for serving. I just drizzled it with a glaze of powdered sugar, a dab of butter, a dribble of corn syrup, a good capful of strawberry extract, a couple of drops of red food coloring and a little milk. What a cake! Moist and tender crumb, prettily flecked with chopped strawberries and, because of the pure strawberry extract, fresh tasting with full strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I WAS HOPING FOR MORE FLAVOR IN THE CAKE. BUT THE CAKE DID TURN OUT WELL AND I HAD NO PROBLEMS MAKING THIS. THE GLAZE SMELLED WONDERFUL WHILE IT WAS COOKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Gresham
Home Town: Union Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I used a pack of fresh strawberries which I sliced and chopped then set aside. The only adjustments I made to this recipe was to use all butter instead of shortening because it is what I had on hand and I also prefer butter. I also added 1 1/4 teaspoon of all Strawberry extract instead of vanilla. The batter came together nicely. I baked the cake for 1 hour and 15 minutes. It rose up nicely baking a nice brown color. I could smell an aroma of strawberries baking up. I let the cake cool for an hour before taking it out the bundt pan. I could see the flecks of strawberries all over the cake and also when sliced-making this very pretty to look at (See my picture in the photo gallery). I noticed after the first bite that the crumb is nice and tender. The cake itself is moist, sweetly flavored with chopped/sliced Strawberries throughout each bite and because of the pure Strawberry extract, giving this a more pronounced Strawberry flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I've made this cake w/ strawberries twice and tried it w/ pineapples today. Each time everybody loved it! My prep time takes longer as I've had some health issues that have left me physically challenged but overall It's a winner in my book. This time I sifted the flour, excellent option. My favorite fruit is mango...maybe that's next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NuJoie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States