Strawberry Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I WAS HOPING FOR MORE FLAVOR IN THE CAKE. BUT THE CAKE DID TURN OUT WELL AND I HAD NO PROBLEMS MAKING THIS. THE GLAZE SMELLED WONDERFUL WHILE IT WAS COOKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Gresham
Home Town: Union Point, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Loved this recipe!!!! Although I did make some changes... Used fresh strawberries instead of frozen and because I didn't think I would have enough strawberries, I also added some blueberries to the cake. This is a very easy recipe and has a lot of flavor...although I liked the parts with the strawberries better than the blueberries. Thanks Sue for this great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
this has been my favorite go-to recipe since i found it 2 years ago. simple and tasty. you can substitute any fruit for strawberry. very easy to modify
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I'd say this is a solid 4 stars. For one, I don't consider it a pound cake when you use butter flavored shortening - I was taught that pound cake = butter, no ifs and or buts about it. I used 1 cup of softened butter. For two, the bake time on this was waay off for my oven (or b/c I used butter IPO shortening). My cake was prefect at 55 minutes @ 325. If I'd set the timer for 1 hr 15 minutes like the recipe states it would've been completely dried out. I also subbed sour cream for the buttermilk (didn't have any b.milk and only had skim on hand...no good for pund cake IMHO). That said, with fresh strawberries and blueberries folded in this baked up wonderfully. Very moist and tender, not dry at all. I did make the sauce, but used pureed fresh strawberries in place of the drained juice and poured a vanilla glaze over it. Every crumb was devoured at the bbq I took this to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This was great and I ended up making it twice in one weekend. I used some of the suggestions above instead of following the recipe exactly. I used butter instead of shortening, half buttermilk and half sour cream, and a little more vanilla since I didn't have the strawberry extract. I also added some fresh strawberries to the batter and only cooked it at about 55-60 minutes. I made a bowl of strawberry buttercream frosting to pile up in the middle of the cake and topped it off with fresh strawberries. No one could get over how moist it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
I used this recipe because I was looking to use up some fresh strawberries before they went bad. I ended up making some of the same changes as the other reviewers. 1. I used butter. I almost never use shortening and didn't have it in the house. 2. I used whole milk with lemon juice to make the buttermilk as I didn't have any. 3. I used fresh strawberries and I added blueberries. 4. I didn't have pecans. 5. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar for the glaze and I'm glad I didn't use the whole cup, it would have been too sweet. 6. I cooked it about 1 hr and 5 minutes. That was a good amount of time for me. I found this to be a good recipe. My husband really liked it warm. I found that I'm enjoying it much more one day later!!! I'm sure I'll make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
This cake turned out beautifully, but I'm only giving it 4 stars because I didn't have any milk or buttermilk or sour cream, so I used the only dairy I had: heavy whipping cream. Definitely made it taste a little off, but my husband loved it. Will use the right ingredient next time! Also, I used fresh strawberries and they looked really gross in the cake after baking. Will use frozen next time - maybe they'll retain their shape and color?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYJEAN07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
kids loved it! wonderful, moist cake! ( I added a 1/4 box of vanilla pudding in the mix) works wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cuntricookmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pelion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This cake turned out delicious and moist, but I wish the strawberries had held together more! I didn't chop them very finely at all, but they still seemed to sort of melt/dissolve into the body of the cake. Very few actual chunks of strawberries! I think frozen strawberries end up mushy enough that just stirring them into the batter breaks them up into chunks, so no chopping was really needed. Also, instead of the sauce the recipe calls for, I just made a confectioners sugar glaze with 1 cup of confectioners sugar and 3 Tbsp of strawberry juice, which I drizzled over the top of the cake as soon as I unmolded it, while it was still warm. Honestly the tangy glaze was my favorite part! It actually tasted like strawberry, unlike the rest of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Four stars, five with some adjustments. First, the amount of leavener seemed way too much so, using similar recipes as a guide, I used just ¼ tsp. of baking soda and eliminated the baking powder altogether. It worked out perfectly, so I’m glad I didn’t attempt this with the large amounts of baking soda and baking powder called for. I used fresh, chopped strawberries rather than frozen which for me anyway, made this so much easier – didn’t have to worry about draining, reserving juice, etc. I substituted butter for the shortening, as I didn’t want to sacrifice flavor. I felt confident doing that, thinking the buttermilk would replace any moisture lost by doing so, which it did. I wanted strawberry extract, but ¼ tsp. wasn’t going to do it for me - I used 1-1/2 tsp. of pure strawberry extract, which is incredibly superior to the imitation stuff. (I buy my natural strawberry extract online) I omitted the pecans – just personal preference for this type of cake. Finally, I didn’t make the sauce, as this is going to the office with Hubs tomorrow and sauce wasn’t practical for serving. I just drizzled it with a glaze of powdered sugar, a dab of butter, a dribble of corn syrup, a good capful of strawberry extract, a couple of drops of red food coloring and a little milk. What a cake! Moist and tender crumb, prettily flecked with chopped strawberries and, because of the pure strawberry extract, fresh tasting with full strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States