Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Loved this! The perfect pie for a summer night. I only made one pie (later wished I had made a second!). To do so, I halved all the measurements. I ended up having more than enough. I know another reviewer gave different measurements for one pie, but I think it would be too much of the liquid. However, I did add a little lemon juice and salt as that reviewer suggested and quartered the strawberries. Excellent recipe with a beautiful presentation...just bought more strawberries to make another one tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North East, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good and easy. I added a thin layer of custard at the bottom, lined with strawberries cut in half and covered in glaze. I made the glaze recipe for 1 pie as listed by another reviewer. It still made ALOT. I only used half of it. Gave enough strawberry flavor and sweet, but if I used the whole thing, it would have been too goopy and sweet. I topped each serving with a little whipped cream. Yummy! (If you want to add a layer of custard, mix 1 T. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, pinch of salt, 1 beaten egg yolk, 1 c. milk, half'n half or cream and heat, stirring constantly until thickens. Take off burner, add 1 t. vanilla. Let cool slightly, spread into bottom of pie crust. Let cool completely before adding strawberries.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Easy, excellent recipe. I had very large strawberries, so I quartered them, other than that I didn't change a thing. Everyone said it was the best strawberry pie they had ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Follow the recipe exactly and it will turn out great! Although next time I might try adding a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was pretty good. I did find it a little too sweet, so if I make it again, I will decrease the amount of white sugar. The sugar in the Jello more than adequately will cover it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
i know that this could be a five star recipe. i attempted to reduce calories by using splenda and sugar free jello. i do not recommend! somehow the splenda left a bitter aftertaste. next time i will indulge and follow recipe precisely. it is a pretty dessert and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seal Beach, California, USA
Living In: South Glastonbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is a great, light dessert! You can eat a big piece and feel like you haven't had anything. I never change up recipes, but I did use low calorie jell-o and light whipped topping. Guiltless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cassville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I've been using this recipe for years and is very quick, easy and delicious. It's known as the Shoney's Strawberry Pie at my house because it is SOOO very close to the pie that Shoney's restaurant serves. I use less water, cornstarch, and sugar than listed here. I do recommend having your water boiling and slowly STIR in the sugar and cornstarch (that you have already measured out and mixed together) otherwise the cornstarch can lump up like lard in the water and become insoluble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
This was so yummy. I used 1 cup water, 1 cup sugar, 3 T cornstarch and the sugar free black cherry jello and graham cracker crust. It really was a good blend of tart and sweet and was very refreshing. Very easy and very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This recipe is good.I made it at home and it was delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiara10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States