Strawberry Pie V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Super delicious! I've made it twice in one week. The glaze is just firm enough not to be runny but isn't unnaturally firm. For a single pie use 1-1/2 cups water, 1-1/4 cups sugar, 3 tablespoons cornstarch and 3 tablespoons Jell-O powder. Also, add 1/4 teaspoon of salt and a couple of tablespoons of lemon juice (this really adds fresh flavor). Quarter the berries to get more glaze flavor mixed through, especially if the berries aren't the ripest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I've been using this recipe for years and is very quick, easy and delicious. It's known as the Shoney's Strawberry Pie at my house because it is SOOO very close to the pie that Shoney's restaurant serves. I use less water, cornstarch, and sugar than listed here. I do recommend having your water boiling and slowly STIR in the sugar and cornstarch (that you have already measured out and mixed together) otherwise the cornstarch can lump up like lard in the water and become insoluble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very good and easy. I added a thin layer of custard at the bottom, lined with strawberries cut in half and covered in glaze. I made the glaze recipe for 1 pie as listed by another reviewer. It still made ALOT. I only used half of it. Gave enough strawberry flavor and sweet, but if I used the whole thing, it would have been too goopy and sweet. I topped each serving with a little whipped cream. Yummy! (If you want to add a layer of custard, mix 1 T. sugar, 1 T. cornstarch, pinch of salt, 1 beaten egg yolk, 1 c. milk, half'n half or cream and heat, stirring constantly until thickens. Take off burner, add 1 t. vanilla. Let cool slightly, spread into bottom of pie crust. Let cool completely before adding strawberries.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
This is similar to my grandmother's recipe. It is requested often. The only variations are less water (1 cup), more cornstarch (3 Tbsp) plus the addition of 2 Tbsp light karo syrup. This is the only strawberry pie my family makes. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
Soooo delicious!!! I made this pie in 5 minutes flat. I reduced the sugar by using a 0.6 ounce package of sugar free jello instead of a 3 ounce jello package. Also, the jello was blackcherry, not strawberry, which gave it a VERY FRESH taste. I'll definitely be making this extremely quick and yummy pie again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jabaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
Tastes just like the original strawberry pie that was served at Big Boy's restaurants when I was younger. (Their pies now just do not compare to this.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I sliced the strawberries for this delightful pie. Super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2006
very easy, quick, I did the sugar free jello and splenda route and everyone loved it. I was surprised!! thank you. I just made the original version-- w/sugar-- it's wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
Very refreshing! I liked the idea of using Splenda and suger free gelatin, and even used a low calorie premade gramham crust instead of pie crust. Fantastic! I will make this everytime strawberries are in season, and I think using 'peaches" with peach jello would be just as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
This is a definite keeper. Will be my family summer dessert. My children loved it. Instead of sugar I used splenda and sugar free strawberry gelatin for those counting calories it was incredible. My dad and husband were impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Strawberry Pie II

You won’t believe how easy, and tasty, this strawberry pie is.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States